Books are labeled with Library of Congress call numbers, which group them by subject. The libray catalog provides unique call numbers for locating each book.
To search the catalog enter a word or short phrase below:
Most Spanish language books are found in the PC4001-PC4977 and PQ6001-PQ8929 call numbers on the 4th floor of The Mary & John Gray Library.
Use a subject keyword search to find books about the literature of a Spanish Speaking country. These are normally listed under the name of the country (written as an adjective), then specified by era.
Example: Spanish Poetry 20th Century
Often the subheading "History and Criticism" is added for books that are primarily literary criticism.
Example: Chilean Literature History And Criticism
Literary criticism of a specific author is usually listed under the author's name as a subject, followed by the subheading "Criticism and interpretation"
Example: Vega, Lope de, 1562-1635 Criticism And Interpretation
Books are organized in Library of Congress (LC) number order.
DP 1-402: History of Spain (3rd Floor)
DP 501-900.22 History of Portugal (3rd Floor)
F 1201-3799 History of Latin America (3rd Floor)
PC 4001-4077 Spanish Language (4th Floor)
PC 5001-5498 Portuguese Language (4th Floor)
PQ 6001-8929 Spanish Literature (4th Floor)
PQ 9000-9999 Portuguese Literature (4th Floor)
PQ 9500-9698.436 Brazilian Literature (4th Floor)
Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature by
Covering literature written in Spanish from the classical age to the present, including both Latin American literature and the literatures of Peninsular Spain
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature by
Surveys the vast landscape of Latino literature from the colonial era to the present. Aiming to be as broad and inclusive as possible, the encyclopedia covers all of native North American Latino literature as well as that created by authors originating in virtually every country of Spanish America and Spain. Entries cover writers, genres, ethnic and national literatures, movements, historical topics and events, themes, concepts, associations and organizations, and publishers and magazines.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by
Contains over 200 entries on all aspect of Latin American and Caribbean literature written by an international group of contributors.
The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature by
This three-volume history of Latin American literature represents an excellent survey of recent work in Latin American literary theory and criticism.
Iberia and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History by
Covers the reciprocal effects that the politics, foreign policy, and culture of Spain, Portugal, and the American nations have had on one another since the time of Columbus.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by
This 5-vol. set spans the centuries from the earliest civilizations of the Olmec, Maya, and Chavin to the present day. The region is broadly defined to include South America, Central America, Mexico, the Caribbean Sea, and the historical Spanish borderlands north of the Rio Grande that are now part of the United States. The set emphasizes political, economic, and social history, yet does not overlook those elements of material and popular culture that have affected the history of Latin America.
The online catalog includes many e-books. To access library e-books from off-campus, choose one of the e-book databases and log in with your LEA user-name and password: