Skip to main content

CRIJ 4380 - Criminal Justice Research: Find Articles

An examination of the research methodologies used in the evaluation of crime and criminal justice systems. The fundamentals of research design, interpretation, and communication of results will be provided.

Interlibrary Loan Links

What type of article do I need?

Journal articles come in a variety of article types which vary by field. In education the typical types include:

Peer reviewed - 

Literature review

Study (Primary Source)

Case Study (Primary Source)

Book Review

Searching tips

Create an account in the Ebsco databases by clicking on MyAccount. 

You can save your searches, set up search alerts, create file folders to organize your resources and later export them to RefWorks.

Accessing Databases

Finding Journal Articles in Databases

Find Full-Text Articles

Accessing Databases

1. Start at the library’s home page: http://library.lamar.edu.

2. Click on "Database List".

3. Click on letter for the database you want to use or select Database List by Subject

4. Choose a database by Title.

5. Sign in with your LEA username and password.

Choosing the right option for you is a matter of choice and depends on your subject of interest or study.

Searching the Databases

Once you’re in a database, search for key words and terms related to your topic. Each database has search options, so become familiar with them. Most will be common among the databases, such as: Full Text, Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed), and Date Range.

The search results will be a list of article citations. Many databases provide full-text articles, so the article will be available to read, print, or download. Articles available as PDF or full page image will be scans of the original articles. HTML or plain text articles will include just the text from the articles.

If the article is not available full text you will see a link for JournalFinder. Click on it and you will be able to see if we have the journal in another database (computer icon), in print (book icon), or if you need to request it through Interlibrary Loan.