Skip to main content

LIT - DHYG 1431 - Dental Hygiene: Databases

Peer Reviewed vs. Popular

Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete - an Ebscohost database
Subject areas: General and Multi-Disciplinary
Date coverage: 1965 - Current
Includes: Journal articles, magazine articles, and newspaper articles
Full Text: Some

Alternative Health Watch - an Ebscohost database
Subject areas: Health and Medicine
Date coverage: Varies
Includes: Journals, reports and proceedings, association and consumer newsletters, pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, book excerpts
Full text: Some

Biology Digest - a First Search database
Subject Areas: Biology, Environmental Science, Health and Medicine
Date Coverage: 1989 - Current
Includes: Journal articles and magazine articles
Full Text: None (references only)

CHID: Combined Health Information Database
Subject areas: Health and Medicine
Date coverage: Varies
Includes: Publications from numerous health-related Federal Government agencies
Full text: None (references only)

CINAHL Plus with Full Text - an Ebscohost database
Subject Areas: Health and Medicine
Date Coverage: Varies
Includes: Journal articles and magazine articles
Full Text: All

Consumer Health Complete - an Ebscohost database
Subject areas: Health and Medicine
Date coverage: Current
Includes: Evidence-based reports, drug information, encyclopedia articles, fact sheets, pamphlets, news, images and videos
Full text: All

Dissertations and Theses @ Lamar University - a Proquest database
Subject Areas: Art, Audiology, Biology, Business, Chemistry, Communication Disorders, Criminal Justice, Deaf Studies, Education, Engineering, English and Modern Languages, Environmental Science, Family and Consumer Science, General and Multi-Disciplinary, Health and Medicine, History, Mathematics, Psychology, Public Administration, Theatre
Date coverage: 1985 to present with 1-2 years delay
Includes: Dissertations and theses from Lamar University graduates
Full text: 1985 - Current

GPO Monthly Catalog
Subject Areas: General and Multi-Disciplinary, Political Science
Date Coverage: 1976 - Current
Includes: U. S. government publications and web sites
Full Text: None

Health and Wellness Resource Center - a Gale database
Subject Areas: Health and Medicine
Date Coverage: 1997 - Current
Includes: Journal articles and entries from reference materials
Full Text: Some

Health Reference Center Academic - a Gale database
Subject Areas: Health and Medicine
Date Coverage: 1996 - Current
Includes: Journal articles, magazine articles, and patient information materials
Full Text: Some

Health Source: Consumer Edition - an Ebscohost database
Subject areas: Health and Medicine
Date coverage: Varies
Includes: Journal articles, magazine articles, reference books, pamphlets
Full text: Some

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - an Ebscohost database
Subject Areas: Health and Medicine
Date Coverage: 1975 - Current
Includes: Journal articles, magazine articles, and entries from reference materials
Full Text: Some

Journal of Immunology
Subject areas: Health and Medicine
Date coverage: 1916 - Current
Includes: Journal articles
Full text: All

Medic Latina - an Ebscohost database
Subject areas: Health and Medicine
Date coverage: Varies
Includes: Journal articles in Spanish
Full text: Some

Medline - an Ebscohost database
Subject areas: Health and Medicine
Date coverage: 1966 - Current
Includes: Journal articles
Full text: Some

Proquest Nursing and Allied Health Source - a Proquest database
Subject Areas: Health and Medicine
Date Coveage: 1986 - Current
Includes: Journal articles
Full Text: Some

PubMed
Subject Areas: Health and Medicine
Date Coverage: 1950's - Current
Includes: Citations for biomedical and life science articles
Full Text: None; some links to online full text documents

Research Library - a Proquest database
Subject Areas: General and Multi-Disciplinary
Date Coverage: 1971 - Current
Includes: Journal articles, magazine articles, and newspaper articles
Full Text: Some

RT: The Journal of Respiratory Care Practitioners (online magazine)
Subject Areas: Health and Medicine

Science Citation Index Expanded - an ISI Web of Knowledge database
Subject areas: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Space Science, Environmental Science, General and Multi-Disciplinary, Geology, Health and Medicine, Mathematics
Date coverage: 1994 - Current
Full text: None (references only)

ScienceDirect
Subject Areas: Business, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Space Science, Economics, Engineering, Environmental Science, Health and Medicine, Mathematics, Psychology, Sociology
Date Coverage: 1995 - Current
Includes: Journal articles and book series
Full Text: Some

SportDiscus with Full Text - an Ebscohost database
Subject areas: Health and Medicine
Date coverage: 1985 - Current
Includes: Journal and magazine articles
Full text: Some

Instruction & Assessment Coordinator

Michael Saar's picture
Michael Saar
Contact:
201 Mary & John Gray Library
(409)880-2135