Skip to main content

PSYC 2270: Learning & Study Skills: Finding Articles

Get Articles from the PsycINFO Database

PsycInfo
Limit Your Results

myEbsco Accounts

An EBSCOhost personal account allows you save your citations after you have logged out.

To create a My EBSCOhost account:

  1. Click the Sign In link in the top toolbar of EBSCOhost.

  2. Click the Create a new account link.

  3. Fill in your name, e-mail address, a unique login name, password and click Continue.

    Passwords should be 5  or more characters, with a mixture of upper and lower case letters and numbers            example: PeterP301

  4. If all the information was accepted, a message appears that provides your user name and password. Click OK. You will be automatically logged in as a personal user.
  5. Record your user name and password immediately after you create it.

Other Recommended Databases

The following are recommended databases for Psychology topics:

Academic Search Complete

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences

PsycINFO

Research Library

Science Direct

Accessing Databases

1. Start at the library’s home page: http://library.lamar.edu.

2. Click on "Database List".

3. Click on letter for the database you want to use or select Database List by Subject

4. Choose a database by Title.

5. Sign in with your LEA username and password.

Choosing the right option for you is a matter of choice and depends on your subject of interest or study.

Searching the Databases

Once you’re in a database, search for key words and terms related to your topic. Each database has search options, so become familiar with them. Most will be common among the databases, such as: Full Text, Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed), and Date Range.

The search results will be a list of article citations. Many databases provide full-text articles, so the article will be available to read, print, or download. Articles available as PDF or full page image will be scans of the original articles. HTML or plain text articles will include just the text from the articles.

If the article is not available full text you will see a link for JournalFinder. Click on it and you will be able to see if we have the journal in another database (computer icon), in print (book icon), or if you need to request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Finding Databases

Choosing the right database (or databases) depends on your needs or interests.

  • If you know which database(s) you want or need, you can choose Database List and click on the letter that corresponds to the database name. Then pick the database name.
  • If you know the subject or field of study you need, such as medicine or education, you can choose Database List and then click on the Database List by Subject. The subject areas have the databases appropriate to that field of study.
  • If you know the name of the journal you want to find articles in, then return to the library home page and select Journal Search to see if we have the journal available online in full-text. If we do, then you can search for topics from within that journal.

Need a DOI?

Need to find a DOI to complete your APA journal article citation? Try these resources: