Skip to main content

MLA Citation Style Guide

Examples

Book with One Author

Hardman, John. The Life of Louis XVI. Yale UP, 2016.

Book with Two Authors

King, Stephen and Peter Straub. The Talisman. Putnam, 1984.

Book with 3 or more authors

Nagasaki, Masao, et al. Foundations of Systems Biology : Using Cell Illustrator and Pathway Databases. Springer, 2009.

Book with a Corporate or Organizational author

International Association of Fire Chiefs. Live Fire Training : Principles and Practice. Jones & Bartlett, 2012.

Book with no author

Dosage Calculations : An Incredibly Easy! Workout. Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2009.

Translation

Felber, Christian. Change Everything: Creating an Economy for the Common Good. Translated by Susan Nurmi, Zed Books Ltc., 2015.

Edition of a Book

Patten, Mildred :. Understanding Research Methods: An Overview of the Essentials. 7th ed., Pryczak Publishing, 2009.

Anthology or Collection of Essays

Leroux, Louis Patrick and Charles R. Batson, editors. Cirque Global: Quebec's Expanding Circus Boundaries. McGill-Queen's UP, 2016.

Work in an anthology

Ashe, Fred. "The really Big Sleep: Jeffrey Lebowski as the Second Coming of Rip Van Winkle." The Year's Work in Lebowski Studies. Edited by Edward P. Comentale and Aaron Jaffe, Indiana UP, 2009, 41-57.

Article in Reference Book

"Zambia." Geography of the World. Dorling Kindersley Publishing, Inc., 2009.

Multivolume Work

Pont, Beatriz, et al. Improving School Leadership.  OECD, 2008. 2 Vols.

Electronic book from a Database

Hall, Stephen. Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers. 5th ed., Butterworth-Heinemann, 2012. Knovel, app.knovel.com/web/toc/id:kpRTCEE002/rules-thumb-chemical/rules-thumb-chemical. 

Dissertations and Master’s Thesis

Alrayes, Tareq. Attitudes of Lamar University Faculty Toward Deaf Adults. MA Thesis, Lamar University, 2004.

Dissertations and Master’s Thesis from a Database

Carello, Anna. The Impact of School Library Design on the Development of Multiple Literacy Skills in Early Childhood Students. Dissertation Columbia University, 2000. ProQuest, search-[rpquest-com.libproxy.lamar.edu/dissertations/docview/1911980251/83BF47457BF0469APQ/3?accountid=7043.

Tips

The purpose of citations is to make items easily retrievable for others so it is important to fill them out as completely and accurately as possible. If an item is irrelevant or missing, omit it from the citation.

If you have more than one resource by the same author, list the author’s name for the first item only. After place three hyphens followed by a period (---.) for each subsequent item by the author. The title follows the period. If the individual performed a role other than author for a work, place a comma after the three hypens (instead of the period) and list the role (editor, translator, etc.) before moving on to the title.

Organize resources alphabetically by title (terms describing person's roles are not considered in alphabeticization).

Sedaris, David. Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk : A Modest Bestiary. New York: Little, Brown, and Co., 2010. Print.

---. When You are Engulfed in Flames. New York: Little, Brown and Co., 2008. Print

The following abbreviations are recommended for use in the works-cited list, and in in-text citations.  Where confusion may result, spell out the words instead.  The plurals of the noun abbreviations given here other than p. are formed through the addition of s (e.g., chs.).

ch.

chapter

dept.

department

ed.

edition

e.g.

for example (from the Latin exempli gratia; set off by commas, unless preceded by a different punctuation mark)

et al.

and others (from the Latin et alii, et aliae, et alia)

etc.

and others so forth (from the Latin et cetera; like most abbreviations, not appropriate in text)

i.e.

that is (from the Latin id est; set off by commas, unless preceded by a different punctuation mark).

no.

number

P

Press (used in documentation in names of academic presses: "MIT P")

p., pp.

page, pages

par.

paragraph

qtd. in

quoted in

rev.

revised

sec.

section

trans.

translation

U

University (also French Université, German Universität, Italian Università‚Äč, Spanish Universidad, etc.; used in documentation: "U of Tennessee, Knoxville")

UP

University Press (used in documentation: "Columbia UP")

vol.

volume

(MLA Handbook Sec. 1.6.2, pp. 96-97)
MLA Handbook 8th ed. Modern Language Association of America, 2016.

January

Jan.

February

Feb.

March

Mar.

April

Apr.

May

May

June

June

July

July

August

Aug.

September

Sept.

October

Oct.

November

Nov.

December

Dec.

(MLA Handbook Sec.1.6, p. 95)

MLA Handbook 8th ed. Modern Language Association of America, 2016.

Loading ...