Skip to main content

MLA Citation Style Guide: Works Cited Examples - Articles

Visual MLA Style Guide

Easybib provides a visual guide to creating MLA citations.  Click on the item to go to the guide:

Database

Journal

Magazine

Newspaper

Month Abbreviations

January

Jan.

February

Feb.

March

Mar.

April

Apr.

May

May

June

June

July

July

August

Aug.

September

Sept.

October

Oct.

November

Nov.

December

Dec.

(MLA Handbook Sec.1.6, p. 95)

MLA Handbook 8th ed. Modern Language Association of America, 2016.

Article Examples

Article in a Scholarly Journal

Edwards, Erin E. "Extremities of the Body: The Anoptic Corporeality of as I Lay Dying." Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 55, no. 4, 2009, pp. 739-64.

Article in a Scholarly Journal from a Database (doi)

Martin, Catherine. "Adventure's Fun, but Wouldn't You Rather Get Married?: Gender Roles and the Office Wife in Radio Detective Dramas." Velvet Light Trap vol 74, 2014: pp. 16-26. MLA International Bibliography, doi: 10.7560/VLT7403

Article in a Magazine

Reiter, Ben. "Five Against the World." Sports Illustrated, vol. 122, no. 3, 26 Jan. 2015, pp.52-55.

Article in a Magazine from a Database (no doi)

Simienta, Bob. "God, Guns, and Oil." Christianity Today, vol. 61, no. 7, Sept. 2017, pp. 46-53. MasterFILE Premier, libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://seach.ebscohost.com/lgoin.aspx?direct=true&db=f5h&AN=124743425&site=eds-live.

Article in a Newspaper

Taschinger, Thomas. "Our Nation Perseveres Despite Problems." Beaumont Enterprise, 4, July 2017, 3 Star ed., p. A008.

Article in a Newspaper from a Database

Kaplan, Sarah. "Odd Dinosaur Cousin has Researchers Rethinking." Washington Post, 17 Apr. 2017, p. A2. Proquest, libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=https:search-proquest-com.libproxy.lamar.edu/docview/1888573034.

A Book review

King, Stephen. Review of The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins. Entertainment Weekly, 12 Sept. 2008, pp. 139-40

Missing Elements

The purpose of citations is to make items easily retrievable for others so it is important to fill them out as completely and accurately as possible. If an item is irrelevant or missing, omit it from the citation.