Skip to main content

SOWK 3340 Social Welfare Policy & Services: Literature Review

Scholarly vs. Popular

Journals

Any title with issues published periodically.  Two main types are:

Scholarly-lengthy research articles written by academics and professionals in the field and are peer-reviewed prior to publication.

Popular-news magazines and other publications with brief articles designed for general readers.

See the Indexes section for paper and electronic indexes used for locating articles on historical topics.  Browsing periodicals is not recommended as the most efficient way to locate articles since they are located throughout the collection. 

 Older years of Periodicals are located in the STACKS of Gray Library or in Microforms (film or fiche). Current issues are located on the 2nd floor in Periodicals/Reserves

Finding journal articles

For your social policy you need to locate secondary sources in scholarly journal articles. 

To locate these articles use the subscription databases available from the library home page.

Enter your search terms and make sure to limit to peer reviewed.

Recommended databases include:

Academic Search Complete

Points of View Reference Center

PsycInfo

Accessing Databases

1. Start at the library’s home page: http://library.lamar.edu.

2. Click Database List.

3. Select the letter that corresponds to the database you want or click on the link to the subject listing.

4. Click on the name of the database you want to search

5. Sign in with your LEA username and password.

Instruction & Assessment Coordinator

Karen Nichols's picture
Karen Nichols
Contact:
GL 105C
Mary & John Gray Library
409-880-8131
Subjects:Communication, Music