Skip to main content

ENGL 3322 - American Literature Before 1865 - Loges: Biographical Sources

The development of American literature from the era of exploration and colonization through the Romantic period. Selection representative of each epoch and various genres and themes of American literature.

General Reference Resources

CREDO Reference

Online reference books includes option to view resources by topic category. Includes a cateory of Literature where you can select all entries about specific authors from a variety of sources.

E Books

The library offers a large number of electronic books. Books related to literature topics and authors are found in the following two collections. Links to books are also found in the library catalog.

Ebooks on EBSCOhost

Ebrary Ebooks

Literature Resources Online

The following resources are available only through the library web site and are subscribed to by the library. They are NOT world wide web sources and thus are acceptable for use on your research paper.

Contemporary Authors

Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on all of the more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors whose entries appear in Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Authors New Revision Series. Updated monthly, Contemporary Authors allows users to search for an author by name, title of work, nationality, date and place of birth and death, subject/genre, personal and career information, awards and honors, and more.

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Comprised of the award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which over its 30-year history has been dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.

Magill on Literature Plus

MagillOnLiterature Plus, produced by Salem Press, is the premier literary database, combining MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors. This database includes all the literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as well as all the biographies and author essays included in MagillOnAuthors.

Scribner Writers Series

Scribner Writers Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 2,000 authors and literary genres drawn from the acclaimed Scribner print series.

Short Story Index

The acclaimed Scribner Writers series provides students, teachers, and other researchers access to more than 2,000 original, comprehensive, scholar-signed essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world and from all time periods. Each entry averages 15-20 pages in length and includes a concise essay and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context.  Articles are written by noted literary scholars

Twayne's Author Series

Comprises 600 full-text titles from the Twayne Literary Masters series, 200 each from Twayne World, US, and English Authors.

Interim Instruction & Assessment Coordinator

Michael Saar's picture
Michael Saar
Contact:
201 Mary & John Gray Library
(409)880-2135