Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Includes all libraries under Office of Presidential Libraries
Online Presidential Papers
The items included in this list are presidential papers not affiliated with the Presidential Libraries under the National Archives.
George Washington Papers (Library of Congress)
The complete George Washington Papers collection from the Manuscript Division at the Library of Congress consists of approximately 65,000 documents. This is the largest collection of original Washington documents in the world. Document types in the collection as a whole include correspondence, letterbooks, commonplace books, diaries, journals, financial account books, military records, reports, and notes accumulated by Washington from 1741 through 1799.
Thomas Jefferson Papers (Library of Congress)
The complete Thomas Jefferson Papers from the Manuscript Division at the Library of Congress consists of approximately 27,000 documents. This is the largest collection of original Jefferson documents in the world. Document types in the collection as a whole include correspondence, commonplace books, financial account books, and manuscript volumes.
James Madison Papers (Library of Congress)
The James Madison Papers from the Manuscript Division at the Library of Congress consist of approximately 12,000 items captured in some 72,000 digital images. They document the life of the man who came to be known as the "Father of the Constitution" through correspondence, personal notes, drafts of letters and legislation, an autobiography, legal and financial documents, and miscellaneous manuscripts.
Abraham Lincoln Papers (Library of Congress)
The complete Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress consists of approximately 20,000 documents. The collection is organized into three "General Correspondence" series which include incoming and outgoing correspondence and enclosures, drafts of speeches, and notes and printed material. Most of the 20,000 items are from the 1850s through Lincoln's presidential years, 1860-65.
Woodrow Wilson eLibrary
Full-text searchable transcriptions of letters, speeches, notes, and other documents are available, as well as scans of original manuscripts and images. Documents and images are added daily.
Adams Family Papers - Massachusetts Historical Society
Includes Adams Digital Collection, Diaries of John Quincy Adams, Adams Papers Digital Edition, and more.
Papers of Andrew Jackson - Avalon Project
Selection of speeches and proclamations from Jackson's presidency.
The Papers of the Presidents - Avalon Project
Includes selected papers from Washington, Adams, Jefferson, Madison, Jackson, Eisenhower, Clinton, and George W. Bush.
American Presidency Project - Presidential Documents Archive
A selection of documents from each presidential administration.
Instruction & Assessment Coordinator