Skip to Main Content
Websites
American Chemical Society
Founded in 1876 and chartered by the U.S. Congress, ACS is the world’s largest scientific society. Their mission is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people. Their vision is to improve people’s lives through the transforming power of chemistry.
Science Reference Services - Chemistry
A collection of chemistry related internet resources curated by the Library of Congress
NIST Chemistry WebBook
This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
PubChem
PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
PubChem collects information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
Protein Data Bank
The Protein Data Bank (PDB) was established as the 1st open access digital data resource in all of biology and medicine (Historical Timeline). It is today a leading global resource for experimental data central to scientific discovery.
Through an internet information portal and downloadable data archive, the PDB provides access to 3D structure data for large biological molecules (proteins, DNA, and RNA).
ZINC Database
The ZINC Database contains commercially available compounds for structure based virtual screening. It currently has about 90 million compounds that can simply be purchased. It is provided in ready-to-dock, 3D formats with molecules represented in biologically relevant forms. It is available in subsets for general screening as well as target-, chemotype- and vendor-focused subsets. ZINC is free for everyone to use and download at the website zinc.docking.org. This database and service is provided by the Shoichet Laboratory in the Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry at the University of California San Francisco (UCSF).
Chemspider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 67 million structures, properties, and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from ~250 data sources, ChemSpider enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search. It is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
AIST Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds,which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds.
MassBank
High Resolution Mass Spectral Database
Crystallography Open Database
Open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organics compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers.
USPTO Patent Database
US Patent and Trademark Office database searching from 1976 to present
eMolecules
eMolecules empowers researchers to explore uncharted chemical and biological spaces and deliver more efficient drug-discovery programs.
Chemical Structure Lookup Service
Look up whether a structure occurs in many different databases, both public and commercial. Currently loaded pointers to: over 74 million entries from more than 100 databases, representing more than 46 million unique chemical structures.
Texas Chemical Council
Texas Chemical Council (TCC) is a statewide trade association of chemical manufacturing facilities in Texas. TCC represents 70 member companies who operate over 200 manufacturing and research facilities across the state.
