Army Corps of Engineers
URL: http://www.usace.army.mil
The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers mission is concerned with the planning, designing, building and operating of water resources and other civil works projects (navigation, flood control, environmental protection, disaster response, etc.); designing and managing the construction of military facilities for the Army and Air Force (military construction); and providing design and construction management support for other Defense and federal agencies (interagency and international services).
Energy Citations Database
URL: http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/search.adv.jsp
The Energy Citations Database (1948 - present) was developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to improve access to Departmental and predecessor agency scientific and technical information (STI). The Energy Citations Database (ECD) contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related STI from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).
Highway Statistics Publications
URL: http://www.fhwa.dot.gov/policy/ohpi/hss/hsspubs.htm
This publication brings together annual series of selected statistical tabulations relating to highway transportation in three major areas: (1) highway use--the ownership and operation of motor vehicles; (2) highway finance--the receipts and expenditures for highways by public agencies; and (3) the highway plant--the extent, characteristics, and performance of the public highways, roads, and streets in the Nation.
Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record (HABS/HAER) Collections
URL: http://www.loc.gov/rr/print/coll/145_habs.html
The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) are collections of documentary measured drawings, photographs, and written historical and architectural information for over 31,000 structures and sites in the United States and its territories.
National Building Museum
URL: http://www.nbm.org/
Created by an act of Congress in 1980, the National Building Museum is America’s premier cultural institution dedicated to exploring and celebrating architecture, design, engineering, construction, and urban planning. Since opening its doors in 1985, the Museum has become a vital forum for exchanging ideas and information about such topical issues as managing suburban growth, preserving landmarks and communities, and revitalizing urban centers. The Museum's engaging exhibitions and education programs - including innovative curricula for school children and stimulating programs for adults - annually attract more than 400,000 people.
National Earthquake Information Center
URL: http://neic.usgs.gov
The National Earthquake Information Center (NEIC), a part of the Department of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey, has three main missions. First, the NEIC determines, as rapidly and as accurately as possible, the location and size of all destructive earthquakes that occur worldwide. The NEIC disseminates this information immediately to concerned national and international agencies, scientists, and the general public. Second, the NEIC collects and provides to scientists and to the public an extensive seismic database that serves as a solid foundation for scientific research, principally through the operation of modern digital national and global seismograph networks and through cooperative international agreements. The NEIC is the national data center and archive for earthquake information. Third, the NEIC pursues an active research program to improve its ability to locate earthquakes and to understand the earthquake mechanism. These efforts are all aimed at mitigating the risks of earthquakes to mankind; and they are made possible by the fine international cooperation that has long characterized the science of seismology.
National Imagery and Mapping Agency (NIMA)
URL: http://www.nima.mil
The mission of NIMA is to provide timely, relevant, and accurate imagery, imagery intelligence, and geospatial information in support of national security objectives. There are, nevertheless, links to information about NIMA products that are available to the public as well as links to other internet resources.
National Telecommunications and Information Administration
URL: http://www.ntia.doc.gov/
The National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA), an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the Executive Branch's principal voice on domestic and international telecommunications and information technology issues. NTIA works to spur innovation, encourage competition, help create jobs and provide consumers with more choices and better quality telecommunications products and services at lower prices.
National Transportation Safety Board
URL: http://www.ntsb.gov
The National Transportation Safety Board is an independent Federal agency that investigates every civil aviation accident in the United States and significant accidents in the other modes of transportation, conducts special investigations and safety studies, and issues safety recommendations to prevent future accidents.
National Water Information System (NWIS) Web Data for the Nation
URL: http://waterdata.usgs.gov/nwis
These pages provide access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.
Scientific and Technical Information Network (STINET)
URL: http://stinet.dtic.mil/
U.S. Geological Survey
URL: http://www.usgs.gov
Created by an act of Congress in 1879, the USGS has evolved over the years, matching its talent and knowledge to the progress of science and technology. Today, the USGS stands as the sole science agency for the Department of the Interior. It is known for its natural science expertise and its vast earth and biological data holdings, as well as for accessing the information concerning natural resources across the Nation and around the world. The Index of USGS Web Sites has many links to sites in the following areas: biological resources, earthquake information, environmental information, EROS Data Center (EDC), geologic information, hazards information, laboratories/facilities, mapping information, marine geology, USGS publications, USGS customer service and product information, USGS regional offices and field centers, volcano information, water resources information.
USGS Water Resources Data of USA
URL: http://water.usgs.gov/nwis
Announced this week by the US Geological Survey (USGS), this site provides access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. The data is accessed via several categories, including real-time, surface water, ground water, and water quality. Within each section, users have multiple options to narrow their searches. Descriptive information on each site in the USGS database is also available.
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
URL: http://www.nrc.gov
The Nuclear Regulatory Commission, formerly the Atomic Energy Commission is responsible for regulating various commercial, industrial, academic, and medical uses of nuclear energy.
U.S. Department of Energy
URL: http://www.energy.gov
Department of Energy homepage. Its A-Z Index provides links to hundreds of web sites.
U.S. Department of Energy: DOE Bridge
URL: http://www.osti.gov/bridge
The DOE Information Bridge provides free and convenient access to full-text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics. Currently, the DOE Information Bridge has a growing collection of over 65,800 full-text documents produced and made available by Department of Energy National Laboratories and grantees from 1995 forward.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
URL: http://www.uspto.gov
For over 200 years, the basic role of the Patent and Trademark Office (PTO) has remained the same: to promote the progress of science and the useful arts by securing for limited times to inventors the exclusive right to their respective discoveries. Patent full-text and full-page image databases are accessible through this web site. Patent grants are full-text since 1976, with full-page images since 1790. Patent applications are available for those published since March 15, 2001.
USA Jobs
URL: http://www.usajobs.opm.gov
Administered by the U.S. Office of Personnel Management, the federal government’s human resources agency, it has a frequently updated listing of all federal job openings.
Water Resources of the United States
http://water.usgs.gov/
Ames Laboratory
URL: http://www.ameslab.gov
For more than 50 years, the Ames Laboratory has sought solutions to energy-related problems through the exploration of chemical, engineering, materials, and the mathematical and physical sciences. Established in the 1940s with the successful development of the most efficient process to produce high-purity uranium metal for atomic energy, the Lab now pursues a broad range of scientific priorities.
Argonne National Laboratory
URL: http://www.anl.gov
Argonne National Laboratory is one of the U.S. Department of Energy's largest research centers. It is also the nation's first national laboratory, chartered in 1946. Argonne research falls into four broad categories: basic science, scientific facilities, energy resources, and environmental management. Argonne is operated by the University of Chicago for the U.S. Department of Energy.
Brookhaven National Laboratory
URL: http://www.bnl.gov
Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL) is a U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) research facility located on Long Island, New York. BNL has been around since 1947, doing world-class scientific research in experimental theoretical physics, medicine, biology, chemistry, environmental science, engineering, and other fields. BNL is operated for DOE by Brookhaven Science Associates, a partnership of the State University of New York at Stony Brook and the Battelle Memorial Institute.
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
URL: http://www.fnal.gov
Fermilab is a U.S. Department of Energy national laboratory for research exploring the fundamental nature of matter and energy.
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
URL: http://www.lbl.gov
Ernest Orlando Lawrence founded this Lab, the oldest of the national laboratories, in 1931. Lawrence invented the cyclotron, which led to a Golden Age of particle physics and revolutionary discoveries about the nature of the universe. Known as a mecca of particle physics, Berkeley Lab long ago broadened its focus. Today it is a multiprogram lab where research in advanced materials, life sciences, energy efficiency, detectors and accelerators serves America's needs in technology and the environment.
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL)
URL: http://www.llnl.gov
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) is a U.S. Department of Energy national laboratory operated by the University of California. Lawrence Livermore's mission is to apply science and technology in the national interest, with a focus on global security, global ecology, and bioscience.
Los Alamos National Laboratory
URL: http://www.lanl.gov/external
The central mission of the Los Alamos National Laboratory is to reduce the danger of nuclear weapons and nuclear materials worldwide. Their statutory responsibility is the stewardship and management of the nuclear stockpile.
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
URL: http://www.ornl.gov
The Oak Ridge National Laboratory is a Department of Energy multiprogram laboratory managed by Lockheed Martin Energy Research Corporation.
Science Accelerator http://www.scienceaccelerator.gov
Searches 12 databases of energy-related research
Science.gov http://www.science.gov
Searches 42 databases covering all fields of science but also more than 2,000 selected websites.
WorldWide Science.org (http://worldwidescience.org)
Searches 76 databases or portals from 65 countries and includes a translation feature for help with foreign language materials.