Great source of grade specific and subject specific educational materials. Covers kindergarten to Adult ages and all subject areas. This wiki is “dedicated to building a better learning community” and you can join this wiki community. Provides an opportunity to add any materials you create.
WebQuests are great learning tools where almost all of the tasks are completed on the computer. Created by Bernie Dodge at San Diego State University in 1995, WebQuests have been developed and used in classrooms throughout the world. SDSU has created a database of these tools that can be searched by keyword and by subject and grade level. You can also do a google search for webquest and your topic.
Lots of web resources for teachers that includes lesson plans, worksheets, activities, clip art and subjects such as reading, math, science, social studies, and writing. All sites are rated by popularity.
An online learning environment that involves K – 12 teachers, students, and parents. HotChalk is a learning management system that allows teachers to join and get online in minutes to develop and share resources, create online classrooms, create lesson plans, etc. Much of what is on this site is free.
The National Constitution Center offers new and exciting resources to engage students in the Constitution, current events and civic learning. Through a variety of lesson plans, online learning objects and discussion guide posters…(copied from the website 11/25/2009
EDSITEment offers a treasure trove for teachers, students, and parents searching for high-quality material on the Internet in the subject areas of literature and language arts, foreign languages, art and culture, and history and social studies.
All websites linked to EDSITEment have been reviewed for content, design, and educational impact in the classroom. They cover a wide range of humanities subjects, from American history to literature, world history and culture, language, art, and archaeology, and have been judged by humanities specialists to be of high intellectual quality. EDSITEment is not intended to represent a complete curriculum in the humanities, nor does it prescribe any specific course of study.
Comprehensive curriculum guides are available to introduce students to key topics of the Roosevelt era. Using primary source documents, photographs, and accompanied by study questions and other resources from the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library archives, the guides are designed for use by teachers of civics, citizenship, government, economics, geography, fine arts, history, writing and journalism. The curriculum guides can be effectively used by students from 3rd to 12th grade (copied from the web site 11/25/2009)
One of the Federal Judicial Center's duties is to teach federal court employees about how the courts work, how they are organized, and how they fit into the U.S. system of government. We developed this site as an easy reference to help court employees understand aspects of the federal courts outside of their specific responsibilities. We put it on our public website because it may also help students, the media, and the public learn more about the federal courts. …(copied from the website 11/25/2009)
FREE makes it easier to find teaching and learning resources from the federal government. More than 1,500 federally supported teaching and learning resources are included from dozens of federal agencies. New sites are added regularly.
This page provides tools and materials for using the Library’s unique collections of primary source documents in the classroom. These teacher-created materials include lesson plans, document analysis tools, online and offline activities, timelines, presentations and professional development resources. (Copied from website on 11/17/09)
The resources described in GEM are maintained in repositories across the Internet. One of GEM's roles is to describe those resources and to make access to them available to educators. Each resource is carefully indexed using characteristics that educator's find useful such as «subject», «grade level», «pedagogy», and «audience» for the resource. (copied from website on 11/25/2009).
Kids.gov is organized into three audiences: Grades K-5, Grades 6-8, and Educators. Each audience tab is divided into educational subjects like Arts, Math, and History. Within each subject, the websites are grouped as either government sites (Federal, state, military) or other resources (commercial, non-profit, educational). Tabs include For Teachers, Activities and Worksheets, Lesson Plans and For Parents. (copied from website 8/30/12)
If you are a teacher searching for classroom materials, a student doing research, or a person looking for a place to spend some time, have some fun and learn in the process, LearnNPS is for you. Here you'll find curriculum, fun and games, a guide to park Junior Ranger programs and a host of other fun and educational media created by the National Park Service and our partners. (copied from website 11/25/2009)
We want everyone—students, teachers, parents, and the general public—to read these milestone documents, consider their meaning, discuss them, and decide which are the most significant and why. This initiative creates a number of ways to do that—through classroom activities and competitions, and votes. (copied from website 11/25/2009)
Each Primary Source Adventure includes an introduction to the materials and links to other learning resources to help you be prepared. The lesson plan discusses the objectives, assumptions, materials, anticipatory set, instructional input, guided practice, and assessment activity for each Primary Source Adventure. Materials can be shown on audio visual equipment in the classroom, or downloaded and printed in either Adobe PDF or MS Word format. Using the Primary Source Adventures, Texas History teachers can direct their students to primary source historical documents that will dramatically enrich their learning experience. (copied from web site 11/25/2009)
The Texas State Historical Association is pleased to provide Texas history lesson plans for our Web site users. Aligned with TEKS, reviewed, and often linked to articles in the Handbook of Texas Online, these lesson plans are a valuable tool for Texas history teachers. (copied from website 11/25/2009)
Includes conversion to TEKS. Does teaching about taxes seem as intimidating as completing your yearly tax forms? Don't worry! Understanding Taxes can be customized to fit your own personal teaching style. You have the freedom to choose which activities and methods of instruction work best to meet the needs of your students. Teaching taxes can take a traditional approach as students complete downloaded worksheets, classroom activities, and assessment pages. Or, students can complete work online and take part in interactive activities and simulations. (copied from website 11/25/2009)