Primary vs. Secondary Sources: What is the difference?
Primary sources are accounts recorded by people with immediate access to the information. Examples of primary sources important in historical research are: newspapers, documents of state, diaries, letters, and accounts by reliable witnesses.
Secondary sources provide indirect exposure, such as books or periodical articles not based on first hand observation of the event, person or place.
Examine the resources available that cover different time periods and historical events: books, biographies, scholarly journals, newspapers, microform collections, encyclopedias, handbooks, bibliographies, and periodical indexes.
After your initial exploration, consult with your professor regarding your proposed topic, if necessary.
Primary Sources & Anthologies
See American Memory collections under Internet sites.
Library and Local Collections
Special Collections (7th Floor)--The library has collections on Texana, Babe Zaharias, and Lamar University
Tyrell Historical Library--located downtown has a collection of local history and genealogy sources for Beaumont and Southeast Texas. 833-2759
McFaddin-Ward House--has a library and archival collection of materials related to the McFaddin and Ward families. For more information contact the Museum at 832-2134.
Sam Houston Regional Library and Research Center --Located in Liberty, TX
Search the library catalog for a specific person to see if the library has their papers. Ask the Reference Librarian for assistance. (936)-336-8821
Items in the Government Documents Collection (2nd Floor)
See also guides on Presidential Papers and Microform Collections.