Skip to main content

Legal Research: Secondary Sources

Books

Use the online catalog [http://library.lamar.edu] to find books, journals, and other materials. Search by keyword across everything, author, title, etc. Once you find a book, look for tables of contents, indexes, and tables of cases.

Periodicals

Indexes allow you to locate published material on specific topics.  Indexes primarily cover periodical articles, however some include books and other material as well.

Many indexes are now available in electronic format, for the complete list of indexes available select Electronic Resources under the Find Articles and More section of the library home page. Electronic access is restricted to Lamar students, faculty, and staff.

Indexes with REF preceding the call number are located on the First Floor in Reference.

 

Title

Location

Call Number

 

 

 

Index to Legal Periodicals

REFERENCE

K 9 .N32 (1952 – )

Index to Legal Periodicals

REFERENCE

K 9 .N32 v.10-33 (1952 – 1994)

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books

REFERENCE

K 9 .N32 v.34-38 (1995-1999)

Reference Books

Legal Encyclopedias

 

Title

Abbreviation

Location

Call Number

 

 

 

 

Corpus Juris Secundum

CJS

REFERENCE

KF 75 .C6

 

Both encyclopedias cover U.S. law generally (with an emphasis on caselaw). Both have general indexes for the whole set and title indexes for individual articles. Articles (or “titles”) may be hundreds of pages long; each begins with a scope note and an outline. Articles are arranged in alphabetical order. The indexes refer to the topics by abbreviated titles; each index volume has a list of the abbreviations.

 

American Law Reports

 

            American Law Reports contain selected, illustrative cases, accompanied by “Annotations,” which are articles summarizing legal issues and noting cases from around the country. Annotations are on more focused topics than legal encyclopedia articles.

 

Title

Abbreviation

Location

Call Number

 

 

 

 

American Law Reports, 2d

 

STACKS

KF 132 .A5216

Instruction & Assessment Coordinator

Karen Nichols's picture
Karen Nichols
Contact:
GL 105C
Mary & John Gray Library
409-880-8131
Subjects:Communication, Music