Skip to main content

Chemistry: Finding Articles

Database Search Tips

Peer-Reviewed

Many databases allow you to limit your results to Scholalry or Peer-Reviewed Articles.  This option is usually found on either side of your results list and/or in the advanced search screen.  Use this to limit your results to college level research written by and approved by experts in the field.

Subject Headings

To help narrow your search, search for subjects related to your topic instead of the default keyword search.  You can usually see the subjects an article covers by clicking on the title of that article from the results list.  Use those subject terms to find more articles on that topic.

Limits

Use the databases limits options to narrow your search.  Date, type of document, and language are just some of the options you can usually limit your search by.  Limits options can usually be found on the advanced search screen and/or to either side of your results list.

Truncation

Use truncation to search for multiple forms of a word.  Truncation symbols may vary but it is usually the * or ? symbol.  Example: comput* will search for "computer," "computers," "computing," "computation," etc.

Wildcards

A wildcard is a character you can insert in the place of another character.  It will search for different spellings and word variations.  The wildcard symbol may vary but it is usually the ? or ! symbol.  Example: "wom?n" will search for both "woman" and "women." 

Chemistry Databases

 ACS Web Editions

 ACS Web Editions contain full text articles from publications of the American Chemical Society.

Knovel Library: Life Sciences/Chemistry Collection

Knovel is a collection of some of the leading reference handbooks  in the fields of Chemistry and Life Sciences

Science and Technology Collection

Science and Technology Collection contains full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community

Science Citation Index Expanded

Science Citation Index provides access to cited references and bibliographic information covering thousands of major journals across a variety of scientific disciplines.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect provides full text online access to journals and books covering a variety of scientific disciplines.

Finding Articles

Full-text Journals

These are only a few of the journals available in print or online through the library:

Accounts Of Chemical Research

Analytical Chemistry

The Analyst

Angewandte Chemie: International Edition

Chemical Communications

Dalton Transactions               

 Inorganic Chemistry

Journal of Chemical Education

Journal of Organic Chemistry

 Journal of Physical Chemistry Parts A&B

Journal of the American Chemical Society               

 Polyhedron

Pure and Applied Chemistry              

 Tetrahedron Letters