Books are labeled with Library of Congress call numbers, which group them by subject. The libray catalog provides unique call numbers for locating each book.
To search the catalog enter a word or short phrase below:
Most German language books are found in the PT1-PT4897 call numbers on the 4th floor of The Mary & John Gray Library.
Use a subject keyword search to find books about the literature of a German Speaking country. These are normally listed under the name of the country (written as an adjective), then specified by era.
Example: German Poetry 18th Century
Often the subheading "History and Criticism" is added for books that are primarily literary criticism.
Example: Austrian Literature History And Criticism
Literary criticism of a specific author is usually listed under the author's name as a subject, followed by the subheading "Criticism and interpretation"
Example: Goethe, Johann Wolfgang von, 1749-1832 Criticism And Interpretation
Books are organized in Library of Congress (LC) number order.
DD 1-905: History of Germany (3rd Floor)
DD 21.5-43 Description and Travel (3rd Floor)
DD 201-257.4 19th and 20th Century German History (3rd Floor)
PD 1-7159 German Language (4th Floor)
PT 1-4897 German Literature (4th Floor)
PT 1-80 German Literary History and Criticism (4th Floor)
PT 1100-1479 German Literature Collections (4th Floor)
PT 1501-2688 Individual German Authors or Works (4th Floor)
Encyclopedia of German Literature by
Designed to provide English readers of German literature the opportunity to familiarize themselves with both the established canon and newly emerging literatures that reflect the concerns of women and ethnic minorities, the encyclopedia includes entries on writers, individual works, and topics essential to an understanding of this rich literary tradition.
Beyond 1989: Re-reading German literature since 1945 by
With the fall of the Berlin Wall in November 1989, four decades of separation seemed to have been brought to an end. In the literary arena as in many others, this seemed to be the surprising but ultimately logical end to the situation in which, after the extreme separation of the two Germanies' literatures during most of the period up to 1980, an increasing closeness could be observed during the 1980s, as relations between the two German states normalized. With the opening up of the East in the Autumn of 1989 claims were being made, on the one hand, that German literature had never, in fact, been divided, while others were proclaiming the end of East and West German literatures as they had existed, and the beginning of a new era. This volume examines these claims and other aspects of literary life in the two Germanies since 1945, with the hindsight born of unification in 1990, as well as looking at certain aspects of developments since the fall of the Wall, when, as on East German put it in 1996, rapprochement came to an end.
From Romanticism to Critical Theory by
From Romanticism to Critical Theory explores the philosophical origins of literary theory via the tradition of German philosophy that began with the Romantic reaction to Kant. It traces the continuation of the Romantic tradition of Novalis, Friedrich Schlegel and Schleiermacher, in Heidegger's approaches to art and thruth, and in the Critical Theory of Benjamin and Adorno.
Andrew Bowie argues, against many current assumptions, that the key aspect of literary theory is not the demonstration of how meaning can be deconstructed, but rather the relevation of how questions of language and literature change modern philosophical conceptions of thruth. He shows how the dialogue between literary theory, hermeneutics and analytical philosophy can profit from a re-examination of the understanding of language, thruth and literature in modern German philosophy.
Companion to Twentieth Century German Literature by
Containing entries on over four hundred authors of fiction, poetry and drama from Germany, Austria and Switzerland, this invaluable work of reference presents material of a range and depth that no other book on the subject in English attains. For the second edition, the entries have been updated to include the most recent works of German literature. A number of new entries have been added, dealing in particular with the East German literary scene and the changing literary landscape after reunification.
A Companion to German Literature by
Presents, in an immensely readable yet profoundly scholarly account, the history of German literature from the Reformation and Renaissance to the late twentieth century, in the wider context of Germanic culture, over the whole German-speaking area of Europe.
Germany in the Modern World by
With a careful blend of concision and rich detail, Sam A. Mustafa's readable and lively text traces German history from Roman times to the present, placing particular emphasis on the past three centuries. Balanced and clearly written, the book guides readers expertly through the complex tangle of Germany's past. Mustafa provides a judicious mix of narrative history and historiography, tracing the influential individuals and broad social currents, myths and legends, and political and cultural elements that have shaped the country. In addition, the book is unique in bringing the story fully to the present with a chapter on the past twenty years that explores the nation's reunification and its struggles with history and memory.
A Mighty Fortress: A New History of the German People by
The word "German" was being used by the Romans as early as the mid–first century B.C. to describe tribes in the eastern Rhine valley. Nearly two thousand years later, the richness and complexity of German history have faded beneath the long shadow of the country's darkest hour in World War II. Now, award-winning historian Steven Ozment, whom The New Yorker has hailed as "a splendidly readable scholar," gives us the fullest portrait possible in this sweeping, original, and provocative history of the German people, from antiquity to the present, holding a mirror up to an entire civilization -- one that has been alternately Western Europe's most successful and most perilous.
Generational Shifts in Contemporary German Culture by
The generation is an increasingly prominent concept in German cultural discourse, which is experiencing marked shifts in how the different postwar generations are thought about and defined against one another. The Second World War and the Holocaust, the expulsions of ethnic Germans from Central and Eastern Europe, the immigration of laborers and asylum seekers, the student movement, even reunification are no longer solely first-generational lived experiences but are also historical moments seen through the eyes of successor generations. The generation, seen as a category of memory, thus holds a key to major shifts in German identity. The changing generational perspectives of German writers and filmmakers not only reflect but also influence these trends, exposing both the expected differences between generational views and unexpected continuities. Moreover, as younger artists reframe recent history, older generations like the 1968ers are also contributing to these shifts by reassessing their own experiences and cultural contributions.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture by
With more than 1,100 entries written by an international group of over 150 contributors, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture brings together myriad strands of social, political and cultural life in the post-1945 German-speaking world.
The online catalog includes many e-books. To access library e-books from off-campus, choose one of the e-book databases and log in with your LEA user-name and password: