Skip to main content

ENGL 3316/5334 Poetic Analysis: Criticism and Analysis

Research assistance for the Poetic Analysis course focusing on the works of Richard Wilbur

Literary Criticism - Start Here!

Begin your search with our MLA International Bibliography Database

MLA International Bibliograpy
Limit Your Results

Literature Resource Center

Includes criticism, reviews, work overviews, biographies and primary sources.  Start simple with this database (author's name) and then add more terms if you wish to narrow down your results.

Literature Criticism Online

A search for Richard Wilbur will show the literary criticism articles on the author from the Poetry Criticism series.

Database Search Tips

To begin the search:

1) Type the author's name the search box for the database you want (Wilbur, Richard)

2) Hit enter

Once you are in the database you can be more specific:

1) Formulate a research question (For example: "How does William Shakespeare use A Midsummer Night's Dream to comment on the nature of illusion?"

2) Pull out the main concepts (For example: "William Shakespeare," "A Midsummer Night's Dream," "Illusion")

3) Enter each different conecpt into it's own search box (if there is only one search box you could list all the concepts with the word AND in between each concept).

Other Databases

Bloom's Literary Reference Online contains both biographical and literary criticism resources.

Academic Search Complete is a multi-subject database that has a decent collection of literary criticism.

Magill On Literature Plus contains both summaries and critical notes over literary works.

Humanities International contains works from all areas of the arts.

Research Library is another multi-subject database