Books are labeled with Library of Congress call numbers, which group them by subject. The libray catalog provides unique call numbers for locating each book.
To search the catalog enter a word or short phrase below:
Books on Space Sciences can be found in the QB call number range. These call numbers are found on the first floor of the library (for reference books) and on the fourth (these can be borrowed). Each book in the catalog has a location and call number. Use these to find the book in the library.
The primary call number ranges for Space Sciences are:
QB1 - 139 - General Astronomy
QB140-237 - Practical and Spherical Astronomy
QB455-456 - Astrogeology
QB460-466 - Astrophysics
Use the following subject terms when searching for Biology books in the library catalog:
|
Aerospace Engineering |
Artifical Satellites |
|
Astronautics |
Astronomy |
|
Astrophysics |
Cosmology |
|
Interplanetary Voyages |
Interstellar Travel |
|
Outer Space Exploration |
Planets |
|
Project Apollo (U.S.) |
Rocketry |
|
Solar System |
Space Flight |
|
Space Flight to Mars |
Space Flight to the Moon |
|
Space Sciences |
Space Vehicles |
|
Stars |
Atlas of the Universe by
A comprehensive guide to astronomy and space exploration.
The Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary by
The Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary is an authoritative and accessible reference useful to scholars and enthusiasts alike. This dictionary is an essential tool for professionals involved in the aerospace industry and flight, and for anyone who must read and understand the technical literature of the aerospace industry and about specific air and space craft. It is also an ideal reference for engineering and physics students encountering a subject replete with technical jargon and acronyms. Bill Gunston, one of the most widely read and respected aviation writers, has added more than 5,000 new terms and acronyms to this carefully updated volume. Terms used in the dictionary reflect the diverse and international nature of the aerospace industry and include brief explanations of aerospace materials and organizations. Gunston has scrupulously avoided terms specific to manufacturers, airlines, and armed forces in an effort to encourage clear communication and understanding among professionals.
The Cambridge Atlas of Astronomy by
This new edition is an unrivalled source of information and images covering the whole of modern astronomy. Its 130 articles written by experts form an absorbing panorama of information arranged by topic. Almost every page of the Atlas is richly illustrated with colour photographs, maps, and detailed diagrams. This reference book commences with a survey of the Sun and the solar system, followed by the stars and the Galaxy, and concludes with the extragalactic universe and cosmology. For this edition there are entirely new sections on the planets Venus, Neptune and Pluto, solar system debris, black holes and collapsed stars, active galaxies, galaxy clusters and cosmology. Many photographs have been replaced by improved images from modern telescopes, including the Hubble Space Telescope. An elaborate 24-page glossary and index has been added to increase the ease with which this sumptuous and lavish encyclopedia can be used for quick reference. There are substantial changes throughout the section on the Solar System. The material on Venus is re-written, to take account of the spectacular Magellan mission. The Mars chapter now includes the Phobos results. In the outer solar system new results on the satellites of Jupiter and Saturn are included, as well as new photographs from the Hubble Space Telescope. There is also a new chapter on planetary climate change. The section on stars and the Galaxy now includes chapters on astrometry and protoplanetary systems, as well as many modifications to the existing texts on evolved stars.
The NASA Atlas of the Solar System by
The exploration of our solar system by spacecraft has been one of the greatest scientific achievements of the twentieth century. The mapping of other worlds has resulted from numerous space missions by NASA, extending over many years. The data from these planetary missions have been synthesised by the US Geological Survey to produce detailed maps. Every planet, moon, or small body investigated in NASA missions is discussed and where appropriate mapped. Geological maps, reference maps, shaded relief maps, synthetic aperture radar mosaics and colour photomosaics marvellously present the features of planets and their satellites. This is truly a 'road map' of our solar system. All maps are fully indexed. The gazetteer lists the names of all features officially approved by the International Astronomical Union. The NASA Atlas of the Solar System is the definitive reference atlas for planetary science.
Philip's Astronomy Encyclopedia
The new Philip's Astronomy Encyclopedia is one of the most comprehensive, authoritative and accessible books on astronomy. In more than 3000 alphabetically organized articles and over 500 photographs and diagrams, it covers everything and everyone from the Anglo-Australian Observatory to Fritz Zwicky. Its 464 pages include a host of major articles on subjects such as our Galaxy, the Sun and planets, optical and radio telescopes, stars, black holes, astrophysics, observatories, astronomical photography, space programmes, the constellations and famous astronomers. Supporting these articles are shorter entries on planetary features and satellites, asteroids, observational techniques, comets, satellite launchers, meteors, and subjects as diverse as life in the Universe and the structure of meteorites.Scores of tables list the brightest stars in the major constellations, annual meteor showers, major variable stars, dwarf stars, energy production processes in the Sun, and other relevant data.Philip's Astronomy Encyclopedia is written by more than 100 leading astronomers from the world's universities and observatories, each an expert in a specialized field of knowledge. They have produced an up-to-date and reliable popular reference work for 2001 and beyond.Main map scale:
The online catalog includes many e-books. To access library e-books from off-campus, choose one of the e-book databases and log in with your LEA user-name and password: