Skip to main content

GEOL 2377: Physical Geography and Geomorphology: Finding Peer Reviewed Articles

Accessing Databases

Useful Databases

These databases offer full text articles and/or citations to articles:

Academic Search Complete -

Provides full text coverage for more than 5,990 general and scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies

Biodigest -

Citations from over 600 different sources spanning the fields of botany, life sciences, environmental science, health, medicine and zoology.

GeoRef -

" provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 100,000 references a year. The database contains over 3.8 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses."

GeoScienceWorld -

"GeoScienceWorld (GSW) is a nonprofit collaborative and comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the earth sciences, which is built on a core database of peer-reviewed journals and is integrated with the GeoRef index. The organization gives global researchers a single point of access to 46 full-text scholarly journals plus specialized searching capabilities and links to millions of relevant resources hosted elsewhere on the Web. Our mission includes an expansion into additional forms of content relevant to geoscience researchers, including books, datasets, maps, tables, images, and theses, with the further development of services that optimize the discovery and use of public and proprietary resources."

Google Scholar -

A great place to find scientific articles, find citation information, and find additional articles based on the one you are looking for.  If we do not have the article request it through Interlibrary Loan.

PubMed -

"PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites"

Science and Technology Collection -

Contains over 830 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community.  In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 publications.

Science Citation Index Expanded -

Provides researchers, faculty and students with quick, powerful access to 6,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals bibliographic and citation information needed  to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share findings.

ScienceDirect -

Provides access to full text articles for scientific, technical and medical research.

Finding Articles

Full-text Journals

These are only a few of the journals available in print or online through the library. You can search for specific journals by searching under the Journals tab on the library's homepage.  If we don't have the journal that the article you need is in, just request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Earth Science Reviews

Earth Surface Processes and Landforms

Geology

Geomorphology

Physical Geography

Nature

Science

Additional Journals Related to Geomorphology

Remote Access Troubleshooting

To save time, try the suggested fixes below. If they don't work, please contact us:

Gray Library Reference: 409-880-7264   Toll Free: 866-375-5565 -- during Library Hours http://biblos.lamar.edu/info/semesterhours.html

Lamar IT Help Desk:  409-880-2222 -- 8:00-5:00 Monday - Friday

 

Trouble-shooting Checklist

Username & Password: Are you using your LEA Username and Password? (Alpha-numeric, case-sensitive)

Cookies:

JavaScript:

Firewalls: