A database (or in the case of Google Scholar, a search engine) provides access to many journals and articles at once. Some also provide other information such as data sets or books. These databases offer full text articles and/or citations to articles:
Provides full text coverage for more than 5,990 general and scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies
ACS (American Chemical Society) Web Editions - "The American Chemical Society is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences, serving scientific communities worldwide through an unparalleled commitment to quality, reliability, and innovation."
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology -
"The Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology, 4th Edition, with a Foreword by Dr. Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, Carnegie Mellon University, presents over 400 articles, written and reviewed by specialists from all over the world, and serves as a unique source of reference to the entire field of polymer science and technology."
A great place to find scientific articles, find citation information, and find additional articles based on the one you are looking for. If we do not have the article request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology -
"Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed."
Knovel Library: Life Sciences/Chemistry Collection -
Knovel is an online library focused on engineering and chemical topics.
Provides access to full text articles for scientific, technical and medical research.
SciFinder is a huge database of chemical literature, substances, and reactions. It is searchable by a number of methods including by drawing chemical structures. There are a variety of ways to refine your search and follow resources. In order to use this resource you need to first register HERE. You will learn more about using SciFinder in another tab.
Looking for more recent articles? Try citation tracking.
There are two main ways to do this:
One way is to follow references backward. You can do this by looking at the references at the bottom of the articles you have already cited. There is likely to be at least a couple of promising articles. Look those up. The second way is to follow references forward. Some databases allow you to look for a particular article and see what papers have cited that article. Look at the list of those articles and you are likely to find a few articles that relevant to your research. Look those up.
Keep in mind:
When following references backward you will be finding articles that are OLDER than the article you used.
When following references forward you will be finding articles that are MORE RECENT than the article you used.
Here is an example of following citations forward (finding more recent articles) from GoogleScholar. Other ways of searching by date are also noted. In some databases there are similar features:
