Skip to main content

Faculty Toolkit

Resources for faculty on information literacy, library instruction and other library services.

Add Library Resources to Your Course

The following is a list of links for the databases available for searching.  The list is broken down by subjects and you can cut and paste the list to your Blackboard page.  Your students will need to log in to the databases using their Lamar email information.  If you or your students need further assistance, contact the Reference Desk at 880-7264 for assistance.


Multi-disciplinary (these should be included in any database list for any subject)

Academic Search Complete

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,url,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h

Research Library

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=SU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTEwMkE@&clientid=10295

 

Art/Design

Art & Architecture Complete

http://libproxy.lamar.edu/LOGIN?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=vth

ARTstor

http://libproxy.lamar.edu/LOGIN?URL=http://library.artstor.org

 

Biology

Agricola

http://libproxy.lamar.edu/LOGIN?URL=HTTP://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,url,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=agr

Birds of North America

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://bna.birds.cornell.edu/bna/

 

Books/Publishing

Books in Print

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://www.booksinprint.com/

Cabell’s Directory of Publishing Opportunities

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://cabells.com/memberarea.aspx

Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://clcd.odyssi.com/member/csearch.htm

 

Business

Business Source Complete – this one should always be listed!

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,url,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=bth

American City Business Journals

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://www.bizjournals.com/circPro/orgAccess/lu6214901-cah78321u

BNA Tax Management Library

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://www.bna.com

BusinessWeek

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://www.businessweek.com

CCH Internet Tax Research Network

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=https://intelliconnect.cch.com

 

 

Chemistry

ACS (American Chemical Society) Web Editions

http://libproxy.lamar.edu/LOGIN?URL=HTTP://PUBS.ACS.ORG

 

Communication

Communication and Mass Media Complete

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ufh

 

Computer Science

ACM Digital Library

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://www.acm.org/dl

Computer Abstracts

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/caid

Computer Science Department Technical Reports

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://cs.lamar.edu/tech_reports

Computer Source

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,url,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=cph

 

Deaf Education

Communication and Mass Media Complete

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ufh

ComDisDome

http://libproxy.lamar.edu/LOGIN?URL=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=lamar&access=lamar72&db=cdd-set-c

 

Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations and Theses @ Lamar University

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=REJTPTU0ZmImSU5UPTAmVkVSPTI=&clientId=10295

Dissertations and Theses @ PQDT Open

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://pqdtopen.proquest.com/

 

Education

Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://clcd.odyssi.com/member/csearch.htm

Chronicle of Higher Education

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://chronicle.com

Dissertations and Theses @ Lamar University

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=REJTPTU0ZmImSU5UPTAmVkVSPTI=&clientId=10295

Dissertations and Theses @ PQDT Open

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://pqdtopen.proquest.com/

 

Educator’s Reference Desk

http://www.eduref.org/

ERIC

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,url,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=eric

Professional Development Collection

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,url,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=tfh

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,url,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=pbh

Psycinfo

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,url,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=psyh

Westlaw Campus

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://www.westlaw.com/signon/default.wl?rs=IMP1.0&vr=2.0&sp=000648431%2D2000

 

Encyclopedias

Britannica Online

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://search.eb.com

CREDO Reference

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://www.credoreference.com/home.do

 

Engineering

Anti-Corrosion Methods and Materials

http://libproxy.lamar.edu/LOGIN?URL=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/0003-5599.htm

ASCE Online Journals

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://pubs.asce.org/journals/jrns.html

ASME Digital Library

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://asmedl.org

Assembly Automation

http://libproxy.lamar.edu/LOGIN?URL=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/0144-5154.htm

Circuit World

http://libproxy.lamar.edu/LOGIN?URL=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/0305-6120.htm

COMPEL: The International Journal for Computation and Mathematics in Electrical and Electronic Engineering

http://libproxy.lamar.edu/LOGIN?URL=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/0332-1649.htm

DARTS: Depository Access – Reports Technical and Scientific

In Library Use Only

http://www.ntis.gov/fdlp

 

History

America: History & Life

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,url,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ahl

 

Bibliography of Native North Americans

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,url,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=fph

Early Encounters in North America

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://eena.alexanderstreet.com

 

Library Science

Charleston Advisor

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://www.charlestonco.com

 

Literary Criticism/English

Bloom’s Literary Reference Online

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://www.fofweb.com/Direct2.asp?ItemID=WE54&ID=103177

CEA Forum

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://www.as.ysu.edu/~english/cea/forum1.htm

Contemporary Authors

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2519?db=GLD

Contemporary Literary Criticism

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2519?db=GLD

Dictionary of Literary Biography

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2519?db=GLD

 

Multi-disciplinary

Article First

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?autho=100096229&dbname=ArticleFirst

Directory of Open Access Journals

http://www.doaj.org/

 

Music

Classical Music Library

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://clmu.alexanderstreet.com

 

Newspapers

America’s Newspapers

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com

Beaumont Enterprise

http://libproxy.lamar.edu/LOGIN?URL=HTTP://INFOWEB.NEWSBANK.COM

 

Nursing/Health

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (should be included in any Nursing databases list!)

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,url,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=rzh

 

 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (should be included in any Nursing databases list!)

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,url,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hch

 

Alternative Health Watch

http://libproxy.lamar.edu/LOGIN?URL=HTTP://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,url,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=awh

Consumer Health Complete

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=chc

Health Reference Center Academic

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2519?db=HRCA

Health Source: Consumer Edition

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,url,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hxh

Proquest Nursing and Allied Health Source

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=SU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTE1NDE@&clientid=10295

 

Space Science

Aircraft Engineering and Aerospace Technology

http://libproxy.lamar.edu/LOGIN?URL=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/0002-2667.htm

 

Spanish Language Databases

Clase/Periodica

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?autho=100096229&dbname=ClasePeriodica

 

Speech & Hearing

ASHA Leader

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://www.asha.org/publications/leader/

Augmentative and Alternative Communication

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://www.informahealthcare.com/aac

ComDisDome

http://libproxy.lamar.edu/LOGIN?URL=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=lamar&access=lamar72&db=cdd-set-c

Communication and Mass Media Complete

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ufh

 

Statistics

Britannica’s Online World Data Analyst

https://libproxy.lamar.edu/login?url=http://world.eb.com

Embed a Librarian in Your Course

To embed (add a librarian) to your Blackboard course the process should be initiated with the Instruction Coordinator.

Contact Michael Saar via phone 880-2135 or email: michael.saar@lamar.edu to arrange for a librarian for your class.

Once you have a librarian's username all you need to do is enroll them in your Blackboard course as a Teaching Assistant.

An embedded librarian can be utilized to create course specific tutorials, videos or library instruction or respond to research related questions via discussion or email.  The embedded librarians will typically contact you to discuss how you envision their role in the course.