There are other situations you may encounter when making references. Look to the APSA Manual for situations and examples not included in this guide.
APSA (Style Manual for Political Science Revised 2018 Edition) (PDF) by 
APSA (Style Manual for Political Science Revised 2018 Edition) (Website) by APSA uses the author-date style of in-text citations. Every in-text citation you use must have a source in the reference list at the end of your paper. Citations should be included for all sources, including images and tables.
The general format for references can be found on p.41-44 of the APSA Manual. There are two general statements made regarding punctuation and capitalization:
It then provides overall guidance for five areas:
The tabbed box below provides guidelines and examples for each of these areas.
Author’s, editor’s, or translator’s names should be given as they appear with the source. This is true for the style in which the names are written and, for multi-authored sources, the order of the names.
For most references, the year of publication is usually the only part of the date needed in a reference. However, there are certain source types (e.g., newspaper or magazine articles, online sources) that may also require the month and the day. For more specific information, see the specific source type tabs provided in this guide and/or the APSA Style Manual.
Spelling, hyphenation, and punctuation in the original title should be preserved with a few exceptions. These exceptions are:
Numbers should remain spelled out or given as numerals according to the original source.
If the existing punctuation between the title and the subtitle is anything other than a colon (:), question mark, or exclamation point, it should be changed to a colon, followed by a space, and italicized if the title is italicized. The first word of the subtitle after the colon should be capitalized.
Arabic numerals (e.g., 1, 2, 3) should be used for page numbers, volume numbers, and issue numbers. The only exception is if source has page numbers in Roman numerals (e.g., I, II, III). For more information on formatting volume and issue numbers, see the individual source type tabs and/or the APSA Style Manual.
References must include the page number range of the entire section, chapter, or article. p. and pp. should be omitted in all circumstances. With electronic sources, such as ebooks, that can affect page number citation, use a chapter number or section heading instead.
Any source found, read, or used online must include a direct link to the source at the end of the reference. The preferred order for the type of direct link to include in the reference list for online sources is as follows: (1) DOI (digital object identifier) numerals, (2) a permalink URL (uniform resource locator), and (3) a short version of the URL.
If using a permalink URL or a short version of the URL, the following elements should be included:
You only need to provide an access date with the reference if a publication or revision date cannot be determined from the source. It is also a good idea to preserve a link to the source using a service like perma.cc (link opens to new window) or the Wayback Machine (link opens to new window) as online sources are subject to link rot.
A DOI can usually be found for journal articles. They are often listed in databases; if they are not, try searching for the article title on the publisher website. If you are unsure if a source has a DOI after both of these steps, you can ask a librarian.
A permalink is a link often provided by the website, which is a permanent URL instead of an internal or time-sensitive URL. In library databases, the URL in the address bar is a time-sensitive URL. Library databases provide a tool for obtaining a permalink. These tools may be labeled as Share, Copy URL, or Copy Link. If you have difficulty finding them, ask a librarian.
The following example has a permalink from a library database and a time-sensitive URL from a library database.
Outside of library databases, you may still have permalinks, such as the following example of a permalink and time-sensitive URL from Wikipedia.
A short version of the URL cuts off extraneous information, such as referral information or indicating when the site was accessed. These may appear after a question mark or a number sign/hash tag (#).