Books are labeled with Library of Congress call numbers, which group them by subject. The libray catalog provides unique call numbers for locating each book.
To search the catalog enter a word or short phrase below:
Books on kinesiology can be found in the GV call number range. It's usually called the "Leisure and Recreation" section, but materials related to exercise, physical education, and sports are shelved here. These call numbers are found on the first floor of the library (for reference books) and on the third floor (these can be borrowed). Bookson health-related topics can also be found in medicine (the R range on the fifth floor). Books on education can be found in the L range on the fourth floor. Each book in the catalog has a location and call number. Use these to find the book in the library.
Use the following subject terms when searching for Kinesiology books in the library catalog:
Kinesiology
Human Locomotion
Movement Education
Human Mechanics
Sports Physiological Aspects
Sports Sciences
Motor Ability
Exercise Physiological Aspects
Physical Education and Training
Exercise
Sports Science by
Exceptionally clear definitions of the many scientific and technical terms used in kinesiology and sports science are provided in this sports reference. Covering many subdisciplines that include biochemistry, biomechanics, functional anatomy, epidemiology, kinanthropometry, motor behavior, nutrition, psychology, physiology, and sociology, and with references to key books and journal articles, these volumes help to gain a clear overview of sports science.
Encyclopedia of Sports Science by
An encyclopedia which threatens to make sports interesting to even the staunchest anti-fan, and science interesting to devoted math-phobes. The first volume contains sections on particular sports, with historical information, basic science concepts, and stories from the annals of sports. Volume two deals with the physiology of sport. Here entries such as heart and circulatory system, knee, and respiration provide information about how the body works under stress, what type of damage or trauma might be incurred in certain sports, and how injuries can be prevented.
Encyclopedia of Title IX and Sports by
Fierce debate has long loomed over Title IX, the landmark legislation prohibiting sex discrimination in schools, whether in academics or athletics. Since its inception, Title IX has inspired both backlash and backlash-against-backlash commentary. Supporters contend that the legislation is a long overdue measure in securing equal opportunities for girls and women in America's school and university athletics. Opponents argue that Title IX is nothing more than a government-enforced quota system that is damaging men's sports programs. Caught in the middle are the schools that struggle to develop equitable sports programs for male and female athletes. From the hard fought passing of Title IX in 1972 to the most recent debates surrounding compliance, this encyclopedia explores the significant individuals, events, key concepts, controversies, and legal cases revolving around Title IX and its application in collegiate athletics. This encyclopedia, the first of its kind, offers a comprehensive guide to various aspects and wide ranging issues associated with Title IX and sports. With more than 150 in-depth entries, this inclusive and authoritative reference will appeal to students, scholars, and general readers interested in both the historic framework and contemporary implications of Title IX and academic athletics. Sample entries include: A League of Their Own Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women v. NCAA (1984) Bonnie Blair Molly Machine Gun Bolin California NOW v. Board of Trustees of California State Universities (1993) Commission on Equal Opportunity in Athletics Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act Patsy Mink Ms. Foundation National Women's Football League National Wrestling Coaches Assocation Pederson v. Louisiana State University (2000) Three Part Test
Information Sources in Sports and Leisure by
For students and researchers in sports medicine and science, and physical education, a guide not only to where to look for information, but also to how to assess the merits of the various sources. The coverage includes established disciplines such as medicine, physiology, history, and psychology; an
The online catalog includes many e-books. To access library e-books from off-campus, choose one of the e-book databases and log in with your LEA user-name and password: