Books are labeled with Library of Congress call numbers, which group them by subject. The libray catalog provides unique call numbers for locating each book.
To search the catalog enter a word or short phrase below:
Books on philosophy can be found in the B call number range. These call numbers are found on the first floor of the library (for reference books) and on the third floor (these can be borrowed). Each book in the catalog has a location and call number. Use these to find the book in the library.
You can search by Title or Author in the catalog For most research, you will do keyword searches for terms related to a topic.
Use a simple word or phrase:
Philosophy
Ethics
Use AND to narrow the search:
Belief AND Doubt
Philosophy AND Science
Use Or to broaden the search:
Aesthetics OR Beauty
Books are organized in Library of Congress (LC) call number order.
3rd Floor includes:
B: Philosophy (General)
BC: Logic
BD: Epistemology and Metaphysics
BH: Aesthetics
BJ: Ethics
BL: Religions, Mythology, and Rationalism
Use the following subject terms when searching for Philosophy books in the library catalog:
Aesthetics
Belief and Doubt
Consciousness
Ethics
Experience
Knowledge, Theory Of
Logic
Perception
Philosophy
Philosophy and Cognitive Science
Philosophy and Religion
Philosophy and Science
Philosophy - Ethics and Moral
Philosophy - Introductions
Philosophy of the Mind
Theory (Philosophy)
Thought and Thinking
Truth
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by
This is the leading, full-scale comprehensive dictionary of philosophical terms and thinkers to appear in English in more than half a century. Written by a team of more than 550 experts and now widely translated, it contains approximately 5,000 entries ranging from short definitions to longer articles. It is designed to facilitate the understanding of philosophy at all levels and in all fields. Key features of this third edition: * 500 new entries covering Eastern as well as Western philosophy, and covering individual countries such as China, France, Germany, Italy, and Spain * Increased coverage of such growing fields as ethics and philosophy of mind * More than 100 new intellectual portraits of leading contemporary thinkers * Wider coverage of Continental philosophy * Dozens of new technical concepts in cognitive science and other areas * Enhanced cross-referencing to add context and increase understanding * Expansions in both text and index to facilitate research and browsing
Dictionary of Untranslatables by
This is an encyclopedic dictionary of close to 400 important philosophical, literary, and political terms and concepts that defy easy--or any--translation from one language and culture to another. Drawn from more than a dozen languages, terms such as Dasein (German), pravda (Russian), saudade (Portuguese), and stato (Italian) are thoroughly examined in all their cross-linguistic and cross-cultural complexities. Spanning the classical, medieval, early modern, modern, and contemporary periods, these are terms that influence thinking across the humanities. The entries, written by more than 150 distinguished scholars, describe the origins and meanings of each term, the history and context of its usage, its translations into other languages, and its use in notable texts. The dictionary also includes essays on the special characteristics of particular languages--English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish. Originally published in French, this one-of-a-kind reference work is now available in English for the first time, with new contributions from Judith Butler, Daniel Heller-Roazen, Ben Kafka, Kevin McLaughlin, Kenneth Reinhard, Stella Sandford, Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak, Jane Tylus, Anthony Vidler, Susan Wolfson, Robert J. C. Young, and many more.The result is an invaluable reference for students, scholars, and general readers interested in the multilingual lives of some of our most influential words and ideas. Covers close to 400 important philosophical, literary, and political terms that defy easy translation between languages and cultures Includes terms from more than a dozen languages Entries written by more than 150 distinguished thinkers Available in English for the first time, with new contributions by Judith Butler, Daniel Heller-Roazen, Ben Kafka, Kevin McLaughlin, Kenneth Reinhard, Stella Sandford, Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak, Jane Tylus, Anthony Vidler, Susan Wolfson, Robert J. C. Young, and many more Contains extensive cross-references and bibliographies An invaluable resource for students and scholars across the humanities
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by
Classic encyclopedia of philosophy covering a variety of topics in the field
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by
Covering the “long” Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815, these 700 articles by leading scholars range from discussions of mercantilism and democracy to the battlefield to the dissemination of ideas in salons and coffeehouses. Breaking conventional geographical boundaries, coverage includes not only Western Europe but also North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures
Twentieth-Century American Cultural Theorists by
A volume from the dictionary of literary biography containing essays on thinkers spanning a wide range of intellectual movements, schools, and concerns; theorists who shared an unspoken acceptance of American exceptionalism, implicitly celebrating its plurality and diversity and using these features to explore the uncertainties and anxieties of the culture.
The online catalog includes many e-books. To access library e-books from off-campus, choose one of the e-book databases and log in with your LEA user-name and password: