Websites - HIST 4333/5333 - U.S. Interwar Years 1920-1940

Presidential Libraries

Includes all libraries under Office of Presidential Libraries

American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Resources listed here contain digitized copies of primary source historical documents.

Core Documents of Our U.S. Democracy
Collection of full-text copies of historical documents and current publications related to the federal government.
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes ten thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
Avalon Project (Yale University) Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy.
Collection of digitized documents related to government, politics, diplomacy, law, history and economics from the pre 18th century to the present. Includes treaties, agreements, presidential messages and a wide variety of primary sources.
Smithsonian Institution

Libraries included here are those affiliated with U.S. federal agencies and departments.

National Archives and Records Administration
Explore the collections of the National Archives. Includes history and genealogy