In order to present a strong argument you need to know as much information as you can on the background of your topic. Before you begin searching, stop and think about what kind of background information will be most useful to you. Try making a list of questions you need answered about your topic. For example, if you are writing about a recent decision by the supreme court you might ask yourself -
Your background research will often involve getting information on more than just the topic itself.
One of the best places to look for background information is in the library's research databases. Here you can find a lot of general information on a variety of topics.
General Encyclopedias are a great place to start getting basic information on a topic.
The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
An authoritative insight into the worlds of science and technology, history, geography, politics and the arts.
Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
From the editors of the Encyclopedia Britannica comes the thoroughly revised and expanded edition of Britannica's most popular publication worldwide. Comprehensive and engaging, the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia contains thousands of articles. The Britannica Concise Encyclopedia has comprehensive coverage on a variety of subjects including, arts, business, geography, history, literature, philosophy, politics, pop culture, science, sports, and more. With an easy-to-use format, pronunciation help, relevant tables, and international maps, this is the reference source that will be used over and over.
The Columbia Encyclopedia
Provides authoritative factual information about our world in its many guises physical, historical, geographical, political, scientific, religious, and cultural.
Encyclopedia focused on a particular subject will often cover their topics in greater detail than general encyclopedias. If you aren't finding what you need in one of the library's general encyclopedias try search the library catalog or the Credo Reference database for a reference book on a particular subject.
Culture Wars in America: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices
The term "culture wars" refers to the political and sociological polarization that has characterized American society the past several decades. This new edition provides an enlightening and comprehensive A-to-Z ready reference, now with supporting primary documents, on major topics of contemporary importance for students, teachers, and the general reader.
Animals and Science: a Guide to the Debates by
Examines the debates, from the Renaissance to the present, surrounding issues of animal rights, consciousness, and self-awareness.
Encyclopedia of Ethics by
Coverage of ethical theory as pursued among English-speaking philosophers.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
The Encyclopedia Of Race And Racism, 2nd Edition, provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored. Given the increasingly diverse population of the United States and the rapid effects of globalization, as well as mass and social media, the issue of race in world affairs, history, and culture is of preeminent importance.
The international encyclopedia of human sexuality
This Encyclopedia is a comprehensive A-Z reference that defines sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems.
Encyclopedia of American studies
Brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
Worldmark Encyclopedia Of Religious Practices, provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.