Enter a topic (for example "Egyption Gods") into the search box to see links to reference articles on the subject.
After reading an overview, use these sources to look up any unfamiliar terms.
Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
by
Much loved for its wit and wisdom since 1870, Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable takes you on a captivating adventure through its trademark blend of language, culture, myth and legend. Edited by Susie Dent, this new edition contains an intriguing supplement of Brewer's Gems - facts, fables and curiosities from Brewer collections of the past. Its pages brim with esoteric and entertaining entries - everything from curious customs to the world of newspapers and political alliances ofyesteryear - all seen through the distinctive Brewer lens. This nineteenth edition of Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable encapsulates all the charm and wit that characterise its predecessors and maintains the standards of scholarship and eclecticism that have long been its hallmark. This unique edition has been thoroughly updated with over 100 new and revised entries - think crowdsourcing, cyberpunk, iPad and mash-up - guaranteed to delight, entertain and inspire in the best Brewer'stradition. Also included are twenty special entries that encapsulate the enticing spirit of the dictionary. Discover Brewer's take on angels, heraldry, pub signs and recluses and delve into the lexicographical world of the eggcorn. Whether you're a committed Brewerphile or a newcomer to its pages of fascinating entries, this edition will draw you in and keep you glued to its rich mix of eccentric nuggets. As Susie Dent explains in the foreword, Brewer's "is not a straightforward dictionary, nor is it an encyclopaedia. It is, in fact, unlike any other reference book that exists, anywhere."
The Hutchinson Dictionary of World Mythology
This dictionary covers all the major myths, East and West, with entries on gods, goddesses, heroes, heroines, mythical creatures and episodes and other aspects of mythology, and shorter entries on many minor figures and places. Background information is provided in family trees, maps and charts.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Among Library Journal's selections of the most important reference works of the millennium - with the Encyclopedia Judaica and the New Catholic Encyclopedia - Mircea Eliade's Encyclopedia of Religion won the American Library Associations' Dartmouth Medal in 1988 and is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, will include almost all of the 2750 original entries - many heavily updated - as well as approximately 600 (1.2M words) entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition will be the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of a classic work to make it relevant to the questions and interests of readers, whether students, specialists, or laypersons. The result is an essential purchase for libraries of all kinds. Every article from the first edition was evaluated by our board of scholars. of study are given their own entries. New composite entries present overarching themes - for example, gender and religion, politics and religion - with each article within the composite covering a different religious tradition. Many of the reprinted articles from the first-edition have updated bibliographies. This is an indispensable resource for any school with a department or programme in religious studies. Additionally, articles support the curriculum and general research in history, gender studies, language and literature, music, the visual arts, history, politics, ecology, health and medicine, law, sociology and anthropology. Three Colour inserts serve as pictorial essays illuminating themes such as pilgrimage, prayer, healing, and how these concepts are displayed in various religions throughout the world. Illustrations go beyond the typical stock imagery and present images of authentic value not readily available elsewhere.
Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth
by
This work retells the world's major myths and legends, and gives a clear reference guide to who was who, where was where and what was what. In addition to A-Z entries of myths, motifs, locations and characters, there are generic essays and entries about the various traditions, organized by location. The essays discuss the kinds of myth each area has produced, and their relationship to local geography, culture and religions. The guide explores the major myth traditions of every continent, from the Americas and Middle East to Europe and Africa. The origins and historical significance of each legend are examined and recurring motifs are traced through the ages
Folklore
by
Designed for students, scholars, and general readers, this work focuses on folklore forms and methods from a cross-cultural, theoretical perspective.
Encyclopedia of Gods
by
Encyclopedia of Gods offers concise information on more than 2,500 deities worshipped around the world and throughout history, from the most ancient gods of polytheistic societies -- to the most contemporary gods of the major monotheistic religions. Each entry details the relevant culture, the role of the god or goddess, and the characteristics and symbols by which they are identified.
The Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend
by
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art
by
The understanding and enjoyment of a work of art depends as much on the story it depicts as on the artist’s execution of it. But what were once biblical or classical commonplaces are not so readily recognizable today. This book relates in a succinct and readable way the themes, sacred and secular, on which the repertoire of Western art is based.Here in a single volume are combined religious, classical, and historical themes, the figures of moral allegory, and characters from romantic poetry that established themselves through paintings and sculpture in Western art before and after the Renaissance. More than just a dictionary, this text places these subjects in their narrative, historical, or mythological context and uses extensive cross-referencing to enhance and clarify the meanings of these themes for the reader. The definitive work by which others are compared, this volume has become an indispensable handbook for students and general art appreciators alike. This wholly redesigned second edition includes a new insert of images chosen by the author, as well as a new preface and index to highlight the ideas, beliefs, and social and religious customs that form the background of much of this subject matter.
A Dictionary of Mythical Places
by
An alphabetically arranged, cross-referenced dictionary of mythical, legendary, and famous literary places briefly describing the origin, location, and major characteristics of each place.
After reading an overview, use these sources to look up any unfamiliar terms.
Dictionary of Celtic Mythology
by
A fascinating and accessible guide to the gods and goddesses, heroes and heroines, magical weapons, fabulous beasts, and otherworld entities of Celtic Mythology.
Dictionary of Native American Mythology
by
This reference work presents the array of mythical beasts, heroic humans, and nurturing spirits that make up the spectrum of Native American mythology. Readers can quickly access many elemnts of native lore - from names and symbols to images and motifs.
Handbook of Mesoamerican Mythology
by
Critically acclaimed introduction of broad scope to the myths of Mesoamerica from ancient times to the present.
Gods and Mortals in Classical Mythology
by
an indispensable guide to all the Greek and Roman mythological characters, from major deities such as Athena and Bacchus, to the lesser-known wood nymphs and centaurs. Also included, of course, are the heroic mortals, figures such as Jason, Aeneas, Helen, Achilles, and Odysseus, all brought to life in a fascinating series of portraits drawn from a wide variety of ancient literary sources. Each entry offers a small window into a timeless mythological world, one filled with epic battles, bizarre metamorphoses, and all sorts of hideous and fantastic monsters. The perfect book for casual browsers and folklore enthusiasts alike
Dictionary of Classical Mythology
by
Jenny March’s acclaimed Dictionary of Classical Mythology, first published in 1998 but long out of print, has been extensively revised and expanded including a completely new set of beautiful line-drawing illustrations for this Oxbow edition. It is a comprehensive A -- Z guide to Greek and Roman mythology. All major myths, legends and fables are here, including gods and goddesses, heroes and villains, dangerous women, legendary creatures and monsters.
Atlas of the Greek and Roman World in Antiquity
by