Skip to main content

Nursing: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

A guide to help nursing students find resources for research papers and further study.

About the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually. Now included in the 4800-plus records are 22 reviews which formerly made up the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews. This database is updated quarterly.

Accessing Databases

1. Start at the library’s home page: http://library.lamar.edu.

2. Click on Database List.

3. Click on "E" and Select Ebscohost

4. Sign in with your LEA username and password.

5. From the Ebsco listing click on Cochrane Database of Systemic Reviews.

6. Click on Continue

Search Tips

1.  Enter your search terms in the boxes at the top of the page.

2.  Select limiters and click on search

Limiters Include:

Full Text                                                                        Document Type

New Records                                                              Recently Updated Records

Reviews with Comments and Criticism                Year of Publication - Reviews From

Year of Publication/Protocols From                         Date of last edited version/ Most Recent

Date Last Assessed                                                  Substantive Amendment from

Records by Review Groups                                      Cochrane Library Source                                                 

Subject Guide

Michael Saar's picture
Michael Saar
Contact:
201 Mary & John Gray Library
(409)880-2135