Skip to main content

Nursing: Finding Articles

A guide to help nursing students find resources for research papers and further study.

Finding Articles From A Citation

Finding an article is easy when you have the citation!

Sample Citation:

Oliver, S; Hill, J.  Arthritis in the Older Person: Part 2.  Nursing Older People. 2005 July; 17(5): 23-8, 30.

Look for the title of the journal the article comes from (italicized in the above citation).  In this example, the article comes from the journal Nursing Older People.

Once you have this information, go to our library catalog and click on the "journals" tab.  Type the name of the journal into the search box to see if the journal is available in full text at our library.

Don't Forget: If we don't have the item you need, you can request it through interlibrary loan.

Nursing Databases

CINAHL Complete
Limit Your Results

With access to over 770 full text journals, CINAHL is the "Gold Standard" Research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health research.

Cochrane Collection Plus

Cochrane Collection Plus
Limit Your Results

 

Cochrane Collection Plusis an essential source of high quality health care data for both providers, patients and those responsible for researching, teaching, funding and administrating at all levels of the medical profession.

Health Source:  Nursing/Academic Edition

Health Source: Nursing/Academic

Health Source provides access to nearly 550 full text scholarly journals covering a broad range of medical disciplines.  The database also features the LEXI-PAl drug guide, containing 1300 generic drug patient education sheets.

Medline

Medline

Created by the National Library of Medicine, Medline covers a wide array of topics from all areas of medical research and contains citation information from over 4.800 current biomedical journals.

Once you've accessed a database, do a keyword search for your research topic.  Remember you can ask for help if you don't get the kind of results you need!

Finding Databases

Choosing the right database (or databases) depends on your needs or interests.

  • If you know which database(s) you want or need, you can choose Database List and click on the letter that corresponds to the database name. Then pick the database name.
  • If you know the subject or field of study you need, such as medicine or education, you can choose Database List and then click on the Database List by Subject. The subject areas have the databases appropriate to that field of study.
  • If you know the name of the journal you want to find articles in, then return to the library home page and select Journal Search to see if we have the journal available online in full-text. If we do, then you can search for topics from within that journal.

Print Journals/Magazines

Current print issues are located on the 2nd floor at the reserves desk.

Older issues of print titles are shelved with other books by call number on floors 3-5.

Print Journals

A selection of the many journal titles available in print at the library: