Books are labeled with Library of Congress call numbers, which group them by subject. The libray catalog provides unique call numbers for locating each book.
To search the catalog enter a word or short phrase below:
Books on biology can be found in the Q call number range. These call numbers are found on the first floor of the library (for reference books) and on the fourth and fifth floor (these can be borrowed). Each book in the catalog has a location and call number. Use these to find the book in the library.
The primary call number ranges for biology are:
QH - Natural Science - Biology
QK - Botony
QL - Zoology
QM - Human Anatomy
QP - Physiology
QR - Microbiology
Use the following subject terms when searching for Biology books in the library catalog:
|
Adaptation (Biology) |
Anatomy |
|
Biochemistry |
Biomathematics |
|
Biophysics |
Botany |
|
Cytology |
Developmental biology |
|
Embryology |
Evolution (Biology) |
|
Extinction (Biology) |
Genetics |
|
Human Anatomy |
Human Genetics |
|
Life (Biology) |
Marine biology |
|
Microbiology |
Natural history |
|
Physiology |
Psychobiology |
|
Reproduction |
Sex (Biology) |
|
Variation (Biology) |
Zoology |
The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution by
Packed with 13000 descriptions of terms, specimens, sites and names, this invaluable research and study tool covers a broad range of subjects including human biology, physical anthropology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology and zoology. The volume also includes over 1000 word roots, taxonomies and reference tables for extinct, recent and extant primates, and illustrations of landmarks, bones and muscles. It is essential for students, researchers, and anyone with an interest in human biology or evolution.
The Penguin Dictionary of Science by
A fourth, meticulously updated and revised edition of the comprehensive and renowned Penguin Dictionary of Science. The Penguin Dictionary of Science covers all the important topics in this key subject area including chemistry, physics, molecular biology, genetics, biochemistry, human anatomy, mathematics, astronomy and computing. Superbly comprehensive and accessible, this newly updated dictionary is the ideal reference tool for anyone who needs to understand scientific terms, whether student, researcher or enthusiastic layperson.
Encyclopedia of Evolution by
A comprehensive guide to the essentials of evolutionary biology, these entries by leading experts survey essential concepts and theories, present methods, models and findings, and discuss both the history of the field and current controversies. Readers will find brief treatments on discrete concepts and individuals to illuminating lengthy essays by towering figures in the field. Topics include: Darwin, natural selection, human origins, behavioral ecology, diversity, mathematical models, and cell and developmental biology.
A Dictionary of Biology by
Provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as key terms from medicine and palaeontology. It includes biographies of key scientists, and feature articles on important topics, such as bioinformatics, genetically modified organisms, microarray technology, and RNA interference. The dictionary’s chronologies chart developments in major fields including cell biology, genetics, microscopy, and vitamins. A new feature is the inclusion of entry-level web links.
With over 5,500 clear and concise entries, over 400 of them new to this edition, this market-leading dictionary is the perfect guide for anyone studying biology, either at school or university.
The online catalog includes many e-books. To access library e-books from off-campus, choose one of the e-book databases and log in with your LEA user-name and password: