Books are labeled with Library of Congress call numbers, which group them by subject. The libray catalog provides unique call numbers for locating each book.
To search the catalog enter a word or short phrase below:
Most French language books are found in the PC2001-PC3761 and the PQ1-PQ3999 call numberson the 4th floor of The Mary & John Gray Library.
Use a subject keyword search to find books about the literature of a French Speaking country. These are normally listed under the name of the country (written as an adjective), then specified by era.
Example: French Poetry 20th Century
Often the subheading "History and Criticism" is added for books that are primarily literary criticism.
Example: Haitian Literature History and Criticism
Literary criticism of a specific author is usually listed under the author's name as a subject, followed by the subheading "Criticism and interpretation"
Example: Rousseau, Jean-Jacques, 1712-1778 Criticism and Interpretation
Books are organized in Library of Congress (LC) number order.
DC 1-947: History of France (3rd Floor)
PC 2001-3761 French Language (4th Floor)
PQ 1-3999 French Literature (4th Floor)
Feminist Encyclopedia of French Literature by
This reference book provides extensive information about French women writers and the world in which they lived.
Included are several hundred alphabetically arranged entries for authors; literary genres, such as the novel, poetry, and the short story; literary movements, such as classicism, realism, and surrealism; life-cycle events particular to women.
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French by
Written by an international team of experts, the Companion's 3,000 entries capture ten centuries of work produced in France and, more recently, in other French-speaking countries around the world. The coverage they provide is superb. The volume highlights not only poets, novelists, and dramatists, but also historians, scientists, statesmen, and philosophers--providing a sweeping tour of French culture.
Guide to French Literature by
The Guide to French Literature, in two volumes, surveys the lives and works of famous French writers from the roots of French literature to the present. Compiled and edited by the eminent scholar Professor A.H.T Levi, the Guide offers comprehensive entries on over 300 of the most notable French authors from Ronsard, Montaigne and the Crebillons to Camus and Le Clezio.
Modern French Literature: A Library of Criticism by
Covering the 20th century
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture by
With over 700 entries from an international team of contributors, this wide-ranging work crosses the traditional boundaries between disciplines in the humanities and social sciences and defines French culture in its broadest sense.
La Belle France: a Short History by
La Belle France is a sweeping, grand narrative written with all the verve, erudition and vividness that are the hallmarks of the acclaimed British historian Alistair Horne. It recounts the hugely absorbing story of the country that has contributed to the world so much talent, style and political innovation.
The History of France by
This is the most up-to-date, concise, yet comprehensive narrative history of France, current through the end of 1999. Engagingly written for students and general public, it brings to life the compelling history of this fractious and fascinating country, which has given to the world cultural glory and a model of democratic revolution. No longer a nation of peasants or small shopkeepers, France has weathered the storms of the first half of the 20th century to emerge as the fourth largest economic power in the industrial world. At the turn of the 21st century French society is in dynamic flux, shaped by integration, feminism, youth culture, and economic and social change. Each chapter of this work covers a distinct period of French history, from prehistory to France at the end of the 20th century, examining the problems and issues of that era and how they impacted later events.
The online catalog includes many e-books. To access library e-books from off-campus, choose one of the e-book databases and log in with your LEA user-name and password: