Internet Resources - ENGL 3340 - Mythology - LibGuides at Lamar University

Megasites

The following sites are large collections of other websites related to mythology. There are a lot of great links here!

Myths & Legends Links on myths around the world. Last altered June 23rd, 2003
Curlie Diretory - Myths Curlie is the largest human-edited directory of the Web. It is constructed and maintained by a passionate, global community of volunteer editors.
Academic Info - Mythology Resources Academic Info's mission is to develop a subject directory which covers each academic discipline. Provides comprehensive, quality links by topic, time period, region, and other gateways. All links have detailed annotations.
Folklinks Compiled by D. L. Ashliman of the University of Pittsburgh, this site links to all things folk and fairy tale as a digital companion to his book Folk and Fairy Tales: A Handbook.

General

These sites deal broadly with mythology in general, provide an overview of world mythologies, and/or include links to digitized primary sources

Encyclopedia Mythica The award-winning internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion edited in Wiki style (staff members have PhDs in related fields).
Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts A library of Folk Tales from the University of Pittsburgh
Mythography in Art From Minneapolis Institute of Art - archive of exhibit examining the interplay between art and mythology
Digitized Papyrus Papyri.info has two primary components. The Papyrological Navigator (PN) supports searching, browsing, and aggregation of ancient papyrological documents and related materials; the Papyrological Editor (PE) enables multi-author, version controlled, peer reviewed scholarly curation of papyrological texts, translations, commentary, scholarly metadata, institutional catalog records, bibliography, and images.
Godchecker Our legendary mythology encyclopedia now includes nearly four thousand weird and wonderful Gods, Supreme Beings, Demons, Spirits and Fabulous Beasts from all over the world. Explore ancient legends and folklore, and discover Gods of everything from Fertility to Fluff with Godchecker...
Ancient History Encyclopedia Ancient History Encyclopedia is a non-profit educational website with a global vision: to provide the best ancient history information on the internet for free. Editorial review is a key component in our process to ensure highest quality.
Dictionary of Symbolism Created by students at the University of Michigan - this symbolism dictionary endeavors to provide some possible cultural significance of various symbols, and suggest ways in which those symbols may have been used in context.
Symbols.com Symbols.com is a unique online encyclopedia that contains everything about symbols, signs, flags and glyphs arranged by categories such as culture, country, religion, and more.
Windows to the Universe - World Mythology An interactive map providing information on mythologies throughout the world

Africa

Websites focusing on myths and legends from various African nations

Religion, Philosophy And Africa A megasite of links and documents on African religion and philosophy from the University of Central Florida
The Mystica - African Mythology The objective of the Mystica is to objectively describe ancient, past and present ideas, definitions, concepts, beliefs, and practices in the worlds of the occult, mysticism, paranormal and general knowledge.
African Creation Stories A collection of creation stories
Sacred Texts - African Religion This site has texts on the traditional spirituality of Sub-Saharan Africa, as well as their descendants in the New World.

Americas

Myths and Legends of the Americas including Native American, Meso-American and Urban Legends

Indian Why Stories Collection of Native American explanatory myths from the Blackfeet, Chippewa, and Cree tribes
Native American Animals of Myths and Legends Sponsored by Native Languages of the Americas
Santeria Information on Santeria - Frank Baba Eyiogbe, has been practicing Santeria for over twenty-five years: twenty-three years as a santero (Orisha priest) and eighteen years as a babalawo (initiated in Havana, Cuba). Frank has achieved the highest level of babalawo, "Olofista." He created the premier Santeria website www.orishanet.org, and has been a guest on NPR’s All Things Considered and The Global Guru and was interviewed for LIFE magazine. He has guest lectured at the University of Washington as well as UC Berkeley.
American Folklore Hey there folks! Welcome to American Folklore. This folklore site contains retellings of folktales, myths, legends, fairy tales, superstitions, weatherlore, and ghost stories from all over the Americas. Learn answers to those pesky folklore questions that keep you up at night, such as: "Why is a black cat bad luck?" and "Who the heck is Paul Bunyan?" So grab a cup of coffee, pull up a comfy chair, and stay awhile. -S.E. Schlosser
Native American Lore Below are links to several stories of Native American Indian Lore from several Tribes across Turtle Island. If you have a story of Native Indian Lore you would like to have posted here, send it to me with as much information about the Lore that you can, and I will post it with others found here. Help me to make this site the best Lore site on the Web .
Native American Indian Legends and Folklore This page is our collection of Native American folktales and traditional stories that can be read online. We have indexed these stories tribe by tribe to make them easier to locate; however, variants on the same native legend are often told by American Indians from different tribes, especially if those tribes are kinfolk or neighbors to each other.

Asia

Links to websites covering mythologies in Asia including Indian, Japanses, and Chinese myths and legends

Bhagavad Gita Here you will find the complete Bhagavad Gita, translated into English, along with the commentaries of prominant acharyas such as Ramanuja, Madhva, Shankara and others. We hope that by reading the commentaries side by side, it will help give a clearer understanding of the import of the verses from am encompassing perspective.
Chinese Tales Compiled by University of California San Diego Professor Emeritus, David K Jordan. The present collection contains tales I have gradually assembled for class use. As folk tales, virtually all of them naturally exist in multiple forms. In most cases I have retold them in my own words, but have included the (simplified) Chinese characters for proper names and occasional other terms.
Indian Diviinity A website covering Hindu and Indian mythology from an unknown author
Oceania Mythology The myths of Oceania are many and varied. They have been developed over many centuries on each of the islands and atolls that make up Oceania. The Web site provides an overview of some of the many myths and legends of Oceanic people. I do hope that it stimulates the interest in an area of Oceania that is in danger of being lost completely.
Polynesian Mythology by Sir George Grey Full Text of Polynesian Mythology & Ancient Traditional History of the New Zealanders as Furnished by their Priests and Chiefs by Sir George Grey, Late Governor-in-Chief of New Zealand (1854)
Internet Sacred Text Archive - Buddhism Sacred texts related to Buddhism
Internet Sacred Text Archives Hinduism Sacred texts related to Hinduism
Japanese Mythology Information on Japanese mythology sponsored by a tourism website

Evaluating Sources

Many of the sites included here lead to some excellent resources on Mythology. And that's just the tip of the iceberg! But with so many online resources available it is extremely important to critically evaluate every source you use. The attachment below gives a nice checklist of things to consider when using a resource.

Evaluating Sources - Applying the CRAAP Test A handy guide on evaluating sources courtesy of the Meriam Library at California State University, Chico

Classical

Websites examining the mythologies of Ancient Greece and Rome

Theoi Greek Mythology Welcome to the Theoi Project, a site exploring Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art. The aim of the project is to provide a comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres) and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion.
Classical Myth The Ancient Sources This site is designed to draw together the ancient texts and images available on the Web concerning the major figures of Greek and Roman mythology. We were most interested in bringing together the ancient sources and illustrations, but have included some Renaissance images that were just too good to leave out. The site is primarily intended for the use of Greek and Roman Mythology students at the University of Victoria, but feel free to look around! Sponsored by the department of Greek and Roman Studies in the University of Victoria, Canada
Voice Of The Shuttle - Classical Studies Welcome to the new VoS. Started in 1994 as a suite of static Web pages, VoS has now been rebuilt as a database that serves content dynamically on the Web. Users gain greater flexibility in viewing and searching, while editors are able to work more efficiently and flexibly.
Bibloteca Arcana A collection of information on Ancient Greece Mythology from a University of Tennessee Associate Professor in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Classical Mythology - Monmouth College A comprehensive collection of handouts and study guides compiled by professor Tom Sienkewicz of Monmouth College, includes links to a variety of primary source documents.
Classics Unveiled Classics Unveiled is a great source of information for classical studies incorporating various aspects of Greek mythology, Roman history, Roman life, and Latin vocabulary and derivatives.

Egyptian

Websites pertaining to Ancient Egyptian mythology

Ancient Egypt Various aspects of Ancient Egyptian art and culture sponsored by The British Museum
Discovering Egypt News about ancient Egypt as well as temple reconstructions and other Egyptian artworks by Mark Millmore
Pyramids: The Inside Story On this Web site, wander through the chambers and passageways of the Great Pyramid, and learn about the pharaohs for whom these monumental tombs were built. You can also follow the 1997 field season of a team of archaeologists as they excavated the bakery that fed the pyramid builders. Created by the PBS show Nova
Egyptology Resources This page is a collection of links about Ancient and Modern Egypt. This page is set up with the kind assistance of the Fitzwilliam Museum Cambridge to provide a World Wide Web resource for Egyptological information. The pages are not a publication of the Fitzwilliam, and all matters concerning them should be sent to Nigel Strudwick.
Theban Mapping Project Since its inception in 1978, the Theban Mapping Project (TMP, now based at the American University in Cairo) has been working to prepare a comprehensive archaeological database of Thebes.

Europe

Links to sites dealing with European mythology including Medieval, Celtic, and Scandinavian myths

Brothers Grimm Fairy Tales This book contains 209 tales collected by the brothers Grimm hosted by Carnegie Mellon
German Myth, Legends and Sagas A megasite of links to Germanic and Old Norse mythology from the University of Pittsburgh
Myths, Culture and Feelings from the Ancient Finland A website providing information on Finnish mythology.
The Camelot Project Digital collection of Arthurian legend curated by the University of Rochester Robbins Library
The Celtic Literature Collective A collection of digitized primary sources in Celtic Literature
Global Lithuanian This page provides the set of links to pages of ancient Lithuanian mythology and religion.
Irish Literature, Mythology, Folklore and Drama A megasite of links pertaining to Irish myth and legend
Digital Scriptorium The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. It bridges the gap between a diverse user community and the limited resources of libraries by means of sample imaging and extensive rather than intensive cataloguing. Provided by The University of California Berkeley Library