LibGuides: Government Databases by Subject: General Indexes and Aggregated Searching

Catalog of Government Publications

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.

MetaLib

http://metalib.gpo.gov

The catalog also offers a federated, or aggregated, search feature called (MetaLib) that allows searching of up to 10 government databases simultaneously

Scientific and Technical Material Aggregators

Science Accelerator http://www.scienceaccelerator.gov

Searches 12 databases of energy-related research

Science.gov http://www.science.gov

Searches 42 databases covering all fields of science but also more than 2,000 selected websites.

Board on Geographic Names
Database of physical and cultural features in the U.S. that gives latitude, longitude, and other location information
DTIC Online
Federal R&D Project Summaries
Geodata.gov
Interactive site that aims to consolidate access to maps, data, and other geospatial information.
National Technical Information Service
NTIS databases contain bibliographic information on reports, standards, and other publications that can be ordered from NTIS, as well as some free full-text material
Patent Full-Text Databases

Covers patents from 1790 to the present (updated weekly). Patents from 1976 forward are full-text searchable
Science360

Collection of videos from universities, research centers, etc., dealing with scientific topics of public interest
Smithsonian Institution Research Information System (SIRIS)
Allows searching various Smithsonian databases and collections including the Library, catalogs of paintings, and sculpture, archival material, sound recordings, films, and photographs

WorldWide Science.org (http://worldwidescience.org)

Searches 76 databases or portals from 65 countries and includes a translation feature for help with foreign language materials.