Government Databases by Subject

• Geodata.gov  
    
  
• Cold Regions Bibliography  
    
  Database of records from the Army's Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory (CRREL). NOTE: User ID and password are required but they give you this information to enter.
• Board on Geographic Names
  Database of physical and cultural features in the U.S. that gives latitude, longitude, and other location information
• National Earthquake Information Center
  Database of information on current and historical earthquakes, as well as general information on the phenomenon, operated by the US Geological Survey.
• National Hurricane Center
  Information on current and historical storms
• National Resources Inventory  
    
  data on land use and natural resource conditions
• 
• National Weather Service, Austin/San Antonio office  
    
  Forecasts, alerts, educational materials and historical information (e.g., record snowfalls)
• Ocean Portal
  portal from the Smithsonian's Museum of Natural History that offers news, blogs, multimedia, and other resources on the world's oceans
• Riverwatch
  Database of current information and near-term predictions for river conditions throughout the entire Mississippi basin, including the Missouri and Ohio drainages
• Storm Events Database  
    
  National Climatic Data Center site that allows searching for events in a particular state or county back to 1993.
• USGS Publications Warehouse  
    
  Databases of references to over 70,000 reports (some with full-text content available online).

USGS Publications Warehouse    United State Geological Survey     Database of research and technical reports, maps, books, and conference papers in numerous USGS series.  Topics are geological processes, climate change and global warming, mineral resources, etc.