LibGuides: Government Databases by Subject: Biology

Scientific and Technical Material Aggregators

Science Accelerator http://www.scienceaccelerator.gov

Searches 12 databases of energy-related research

Searches 42 databases covering all fields of science but also more than 2,000 selected websites.

Board on Geographic Names
Database of physical and cultural features in the U.S. that gives latitude, longitude, and other location information
DTIC Online
Federal R&D Project Summaries
Geodata.gov
Interactive site that aims to consolidate access to maps, data, and other geospatial information.
National Technical Information Service
NTIS databases contain bibliographic information on reports, standards, and other publications that can be ordered from NTIS, as well as some free full-text material
Patent Full-Text Databases

Covers patents from 1790 to the present (updated weekly). Patents from 1976 forward are full-text searchable
Science360

Collection of videos from universities, research centers, etc., dealing with scientific topics of public interest
Smithsonian Institution Research Information System (SIRIS)
Allows searching various Smithsonian databases and collections including the Library, catalogs of paintings, and sculpture, archival material, sound recordings, films, and photographs

WorldWide Science.org (http://worldwidescience.org)

Searches 76 databases or portals from 65 countries and includes a translation feature for help with foreign language materials.

Life Science

Agriculture Dept. Economics, Statistics, & Market Information System
Database of reports and datasets on agricultural topics, including trade
Alternative Farming System Information Center
Database of resources concerned with sustainable agricultural practices
National Library of Agriculture Digital Repository
Catalog of digitized publications (primarily historical) available through the Library
National Museum of Natural History: Databases
Mammal Species of the World
One of the major databases at the National Museum of Natural History
National Wetlands Inventory
Database of articles plus extensive geographical data for viewing and downloading

Plants Database

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references.